Whoa! ****MAJOR**** High-Speed Shutter-Speed Discovery! - Creative Uses of CHDK - CHDK Forum

Whoa! ****MAJOR**** High-Speed Shutter-Speed Discovery!

• 119 Replies
Whoa! ****MAJOR**** High-Speed Shutter-Speed Discovery!
« on: 29 / November / 2007, 04:14:19 »
Advertisements
Deleted

edit by phyrephox: this thread is about high speed shutter.
« Last Edit: 22 / July / 2008, 04:14:59 by PhyrePhoX »

Offline a710is

• A710 IS
Re: Whoa! ****MAJOR**** High-Speed Shutter-Speed Discovery!
« Reply #1 on: 29 / November / 2007, 06:05:55 »
I'm not an expert but I don't even know if that would be phisically possible...
I mean 1/500000 - the shutter would probably reach supersonic speeds and you'd hear a sonic boom :D
I believe there's another explanation

« Reply #2 on: 29 / November / 2007, 10:38:45 »
This sounds really good but a little iffy.  I think it might be possible (electronics-wise) to do something of the order of 1/125K but after that it might be shutter???  I don't think CCD's aren't known for high clock rates.  I'm not sure what the clockrate for the Arm processor used in the Canon cameras but I'm assuming there would be some sort of state-machine anyway.

A possible method to check whether it is time or aperture at those speeds would be to take the earlier shots out of focus and then see if the line becomes sharper as its DOF increased with a smaller aperture.  I'm sure there are better ways.

Even if it is a combination of time and aperture it is still a pretty fantastic discover.  Now we just have to wait for the next eclipse!

C
A570IS 1.01a

Offline n6mod

« Reply #3 on: 29 / November / 2007, 11:29:04 »
That's a *really* interesting result.