Have I got this right? - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

Have I got this right?

• 12 Replies

Offline CMC68

Have I got this right?
« on: 17 / August / 2009, 14:11:04 »
Advertisements
Hi,

I stumbled across CHDK and this site a couple of days ago whilst searching around High Speed Photography. It is completely new to me but as a keen amateur photographer who also loves 'tinkering' I was intrigued. SO I have spent the last couple of days absorbing what I can and considering the potential CHDK can offer me.

One area I love messing about with is high speed photography - bursting balloons, smashing eggs/lighbulbs etc. hence the searching. Currently I use a Quaketronics controller (triggered by sound or beam interruption) to fire a remote flash gun (a vivitar 283) whilst my DSLR is set on bulb in a completely dark environment. Its pretty effective as the flash can be forced down to 1/30,000th of a second but the need to be in complete darkness does cause limitations to potential subjects (I'd like a shattering bulb with the filament glowing for example) and makes some shooting trickier.

So I have a few questions before I jump in with both feet. Mainly just looking for confirmation of what I think I understand from my searching (bear in mind electronics and programming are not my strong points, I'm more of a mechanics person).

• Could I really have a high speed shot in daylight at or above 1/30000"? If so is the DoF workable or does the aperture required to allow enough light effect this
  • If so, is it theoretically possible to use my controller which obviously outputs a signal (I guess I need to measure it) in conjunction with a USB trigger, and using some sort relay, to fire the camera's shutter? If so would the delay in this be minimal (the USB side)
  • Is motion detection a potential trigger option too? I.e. response times quite quick and or a delay programmable?