'Ideal world' camera for CHDK - General Discussion and Assistance - CHDK Forum

'Ideal world' camera for CHDK

• 7 Replies
'Ideal world' camera for CHDK
« on: 23 / November / 2009, 04:36:52 »
Advertisements
First off, may I thank all those involved for a FANTASTIC product - I'm spent many an hour 'playing' with my CHDK port (A620)

Here's my situation:I'm a pilot (paragliders/Paramotors and model aircraft) and I want to take some stereo images. I'm up to speed with all the docs and ports.

Here's my question: I'm going to need a second camera. Which camera has the most success with CHDK? I'll be shooting with wide angle mostly (because of vibration / shutter speed issues)

Thanks again
Nigel

Offline RaduP

Re: 'Ideal world' camera for CHDK
« Reply #1 on: 24 / November / 2009, 13:48:13 »
Well, if you want wide angle, there are not that many choices. The widest angle P&S camera is the SD980 (22mm wide in RAW mode, 24mm in jpg).
I have a beta CHDK implementation for the SD980 firmware 1.0.0c (however there are some new versions not supported yet).

Also take a look at SDM, it is a spin-off CHDK special for stereo photography (the SD980 is not supported by it yet).

Offline yvesson

• A540 SX10IS
    • poll about some pics (not much serious) ^^
« Reply #2 on: 24 / November / 2009, 14:32:29 »
Hej,
22mm in raw and 24mm in jpg ? Havn't read about that anywhere. How is this possible ?

Offline RaduP

« Reply #3 on: 24 / November / 2009, 14:46:17 »
Well, the true lens is 22mm, but the camera does some distortion correction and crops the borders, then upscales the image to 12MP.
For example:
24_mm_sd980_jpg (JPG)
24_mm_sd980_raw (RAW)

Offline yvesson

• A540 SX10IS
    • poll about some pics (not much serious) ^^
« Reply #4 on: 24 / November / 2009, 15:55:33 »
Hej,
Hmm can't see the point having 22mm like that. I prefer making a panorama with 35mm. :p