Can't figure out how to select shutter speed in Non-stop Long Exp Timelapse - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

Can't figure out how to select shutter speed in Non-stop Long Exp Timelapse

• 7 Replies

Offline bobg

Advertisements
Hi,

I'm using the Non-stop Long Exp Timelapse script. I've tried changing shutter speed, but it always gives me a 64sec shutter speed (I want to try shorter shutter speeds). It shows a shorter shutter speed selected, but then every time I start shooting, it's 64secs exposure.

You can see my settings here:
http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/1567/settingsiv.jpg

I expect I'm making a silly mistake... any advice? I've been stuck for hours trying to figure it out.

Thanks!

Offline reyalp

If you are using this script http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/UBASIC/Scripts:Long_Exposure_Intervalometer the shutter speed value appears to be hard coded in the script:
Code: [Select]
set_tv96_direct -576The value is the APEX shutter speed value times 96, so -576 = -6 apex =  64 sec.

See http://dougkerr.net/Pumpkin/#APEX for an excellent description of APEX.
Don't forget what the H stands for.

Offline bobg

Ah, thanks!!! I just reloaded an edited version of the script, and sure enough, that fixed it. I really appreciate the help!!!

One more thing now... I've tried to minimize the delay between shots by setting interval times to zero in the script, but it still has about a 5 second delay between shots. Can that be shortened to almost no delay at all?

Offline reyalp

Ah, thanks!!! I just reloaded an edited version of the script, and sure enough, that fixed it. I really appreciate the help!!!
Not sure if this is what you mean, but if you take the set_tv96_direct statement out entirely, the script will use whatever settings you set elsewhere.