Detect motion while recording movie - Workaround - General Discussion and Assistance - CHDK Forum  

Detect motion while recording movie - Workaround

• 4 Replies
Detect motion while recording movie - Workaround
« on: 05 / May / 2022, 13:35:04 »
Advertisements
Hey! I'm new to CHDK, been hacking for just a few days with my SX60HS.

Sorry if this issue was still addressed here (it probably was), but I could not find the topic.

I found that (at least for this camera) it is not possible to detect motion while recording a movie, because the camera prevents access to the filesystem during video recording and the motion detection module fails to load.

I don't know whether there is an official way to do this, but the workaround I found was to make the motion detection module never unload from memory (by making _module_can_unload() return always  false). This way, I just need to make a dummy call to md_detect_motion() before start recording in order to load the module and then I can use motion detection during recording.

Code: [Select]
int _module_can_unload()
 {
-    return camera_info.state.state_kbd_script_run == SCRIPT_STATE_INACTIVE;
+    return 0; //camera_info.state.state_kbd_script_run == SCRIPT_STATE_INACTIVE;
 }

Any thoughts?
Thanks,

Offline Caefix

• Sorry, busy deleting test shots...
Re: Detect motion while recording movie - Workaround
« Reply #1 on: 05 / May / 2022, 15:46:17 »
 :) Just as a starting point for experimental scripting:
I have never tried to combine it with video, but it seems possible:  :lol
Start script, adjust grid with zoom, exit <alt>, start video, enter <alt>...

All lifetime is a loan from eternity.

Offline reyalp

« Reply #2 on: 05 / May / 2022, 22:10:35 »
I found that (at least for this camera) it is not possible to detect motion while recording a movie, because the camera prevents access to the filesystem during video recording and the motion detection module fails to load.