Set zoom problems - Script Writing - CHDK Forum

Set zoom problems

• 19 Replies
Set zoom problems
« on: 17 / October / 2011, 20:19:34 »
Advertisements
I am new to CHDK and fascinated by its potential.  However, I am trying to do what should be the simplest of operations: turn on camera, zoom out lens to a set point, and take a picture over the past two days and am pulling my hair out.  I used Zoom and Shoot script as my starting point (which seems to mostly work, though not always flawlessly) and tried to whittle it down to something like this:

rem Author ~Keoeeit~
rem For S-series cameras ONLY!
set_zoom_speed 20
set_zoom 0
set_zoom 1
click "shoot_half"
shoot
end

Trying this on both an A480 and a g11 with an autoboot 4GB card in them.  The behavior is flakier than a croisant.  First if I try to start it in Autostart mode - forget it, never executes properly.  Sometimes it will actually get to the shoot command, but the zoom is all wrong.  Othertimes it just freezes, and sometimes it just doesn't execute at all.  Second if I turn off Autostart, start CHDK up via autoboot, press the print key and then shutter to start the script it works some of the time, but not others.  In the "not others" sometimes it doesn't zoom, but snaps the picture anyway/ sometimes the camera just shuts off mid script / sometimes it works for several consecutive executions of the macro flawlessly.  Again the behavior is the same on both the G11 and the A480.

What in the world am I not getting here ?  I thought it might just be timing issues and so I've tried all sorts of sleep 100, sleep 500, sleep 6000 throughout the script to no avail.  I've tried to put together a loop of click "zoom out" commands together with sleep 600 after each click.  Just as flaky in its behavior.