Need help finding cam w/ compat. firmware + features - General Discussion and Assistance - CHDK Forum  

Need help finding cam w/ compat. firmware + features

• 15 Replies
Need help finding cam w/ compat. firmware + features
« on: 18 / February / 2013, 15:50:54 »
Advertisements
Hi, another CHDK-noob here. Hope some of you are willing to help me with this. I've researched CHDK over the past few weeks. I was hoping I could get some suggestions on cameras that would fit my needs (see below) and how I could go about making sure it's CHDK-compatable.

Questions:
Is there any way to DOWNGRADE a CHDK-compatable cam's fiirmware to a vers. I need? Like erase then reload the compat. ver., or overwrite? I read in another poster's thread that there's no way to know for sure if a cam I buy will have a CHDK-compatable firmware unless I can somehow get the seller to email me a pic taken by that cam (not that simple with ebay/Amazon sellers) especially when it's a "new" sealed item of an older model the stores don't sell/display anymore (like the Elph 300/500, etc). :(

Also, I'm trying to stay below the $300 mark as much as I can.

Uses/needed camera features:

Live video feed directly to my laptop (HD/slow-mo) for some important non-profit video projects.

Low light (sunset/sunrise)

80fps+  high-speed VGA (or better yet, HD) video

for use as a document-camera (digitally archiving all my text notes and drawings)

for photo/video of pets, nature, people (portrait)

smooth gradual zoom during video

HD video

below $300
« Last Edit: 18 / February / 2013, 15:55:56 by photonoob »

Re: Need help finding cam w/ compat. firmware + features
« Reply #1 on: 18 / February / 2013, 17:07:17 »
Questions:
Is there any way to DOWNGRADE a CHDK-compatable cam's fiirmware to a vers. I need?
Simple answer =  no.

Canon only rarely issues firmware updates even though it regularly releases the same camera with different firmware versions.   Updates are usually only offered to fix major bugs.