SX160 RAW files are 4MP whereas JPG is 16MP, plus raw has len distortion - RAW Shooting and Processing - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

SX160 RAW files are 4MP whereas JPG is 16MP, plus raw has len distortion

• 2 Replies

Offline ShahJahan

• King Of The World
Advertisements
Hello.

I am new to CHDK and am using Canon PowerShot SX160 IS Camera. I have two problems and I'm NOT sure if this is normal with CHDK?

1. When I shoot with RAW plus JPG, my RAW files are limited to a resolution of 2304 x 1730 pixels (4MP) whereas my JPGs of the same shot are of 4608 x 3456 pixels (16MP). That is my RAWs are of 1/4th resolution of my JPGs! Is there a way to shoot at 16MP RAW?

2. My RAWs have a severe lens distortion (barrel distortion) whereas my JPG doesn't. Plus my JPG of the same image is cropped, whereas my RAW isn't.

PS: I'm fine with the second problem as I can fix it in PhotoShop, although I'm really concerned about the quarter of a resolution in RAW as I'm losing a lot of data! Can someone kindly guide me on how to shoot RAW at full resolution?

Thank you very much.
The name ShahJahan comes from Persian, where Shah means King and Jahan means World,
so the name ShahJahan in its literal sense means King of the World.

Offline reyalp

1. When I shoot with RAW plus JPG, my RAW files are limited to a resolution of 2304 x 1730 pixels (4MP) whereas my JPGs of the same shot are of 4608 x 3456 pixels (16MP). That is my RAWs are of 1/4th resolution of my JPGs! Is there a way to shoot at 16MP RAW?
Most likely the program you are using to view them is showing reduced resolution, CHDK isn't capable of saving a reduced resolution raw. irfanview (among others) does this for large raw files. There is usually an option to see full size. To make use of raw, using a dedicated raw processing program like raw therapee, lightroom etc is recommended.