PowerShot A540, Memory card locked error, SanDisk 4GB card - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

PowerShot A540, Memory card locked error, SanDisk 4GB card

• 14 Replies
PowerShot A540, Memory card locked error, SanDisk 4GB card
« on: 22 / August / 2009, 11:07:46 »
Advertisements
Thank you for helping to expand the capabilities of Canon cameras!

Sorry if this has been asked before; I searched the forum and the FAQ pages pretty carefully but I may have overlooked the answer.

I downloaded and installed CardTricks 1.44, then read over several times and carefully followed the directions on multiple pages (the video, the dummies page, and the non-dummies installation page), and successfully installed the CHDK software onto a genuine SanDisk 4gb card, and verified the files are there correctly. I verified that it is the correct file for my Powershot A540, a540-100b-0.9.8-792-full.zip, and that the correct firmware was already installed in the camera (vers. 1.00b). However, when I put the card in the camera, I get only a black screen with the message:
Memory card error
Card locked!
regardless of which position I try the lock in. Any help would be appreciated; I work with nonprofits and we often need to film presentations for archival purposes.

I am 100% sure that I formatted the card in FAT16 with the CardTricks software, AND that I have made it bootable, and that I did it on the correct disk. CardTricks verified the disk size correctly.

I'm at the point of thinking that maybe the firmware release in the zip file might not be the correct one, or that I'm reverting to blondeness. I would love to discover that both these thoughts are incorrect and that I've just overlooked something.

Offline Anaglyphic

• Anaglyphic lives!
Re: PowerShot A540, Memory card locked error, SanDisk 4GB card
« Reply #1 on: 22 / August / 2009, 14:27:43 »
Hi.