Powershot A720 raw colors - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

Powershot A720 raw colors

• 13 Replies
Powershot A720 raw colors
« on: 24 / March / 2012, 08:12:12 »
Advertisements
Hello everyone,

i'm new to this forum and i would like to say thank you to all chdk developers.

I have 2 powershots, an A640 and an A720.

I have installed chdk on both, and while on the 640 i get "right" colors on the fly when processing raw files (converted directly with raw therapee or converted to dng via dng2ps2 and after processed always with raw therapee), with the a720 i get really weird colors in both ways, colors are really off (and thus files are, for me, really difficult to manipulate and convert back to jpeg)

I have seen there is a procedure to calibrate colors, i have tried to shoot an image as described here:
 http://chdk.setepontos.com/index.php?topic=390.0

The raw file and the jpg one are on zshare:

Calibrazione720.7z - 8.43MB

But with dng4ps2 i have been unable to calculate it (the program crashes).

Still i don't know, maybe it is a raw therapee problem.

There's also another question and i haven't found an answer in the faq...

I have seen there is a way to save directly in dng. What are pro and cons of using dng instead of "crw"?

For sure dng is more portable, but in terms of quality are they the same or i'll loose some data?

Thank you in advance.
« Last Edit: 12 / May / 2012, 15:17:28 by pshotuser »

Re: Powershot A720 raw colors
« Reply #1 on: 24 / March / 2012, 10:43:49 »
I have installed chdk on both, and while on the 640 i get "right" colors on the fly when processing raw files (converted directly with raw therapee or converted to dng via dng2ps2 and after processed always with raw therapee), with the a720 i get really weird colors in both ways, colors are really off (and thus files are, for me, really difficult to manipulate and convert back to jpeg)