Help with CHDKPTP remote shooting on A700 - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

Help with CHDKPTP remote shooting on A700

• 4 Replies
Help with CHDKPTP remote shooting on A700
« on: 14 / January / 2022, 18:46:41 »
Advertisements
I am trying to use an A700 under PC control. CHKD is installed on the camera and working. CHDKPTP is installed (as well as LINUSB drivers) and it works. When the camera is in playback mode CHDKPTP connects and sees the files in the camera.  When I slide the camera switch to shooting mode the camera vanishes from CHDKPTP. Sliding the switch back to playback makes it reappear. Is this because the A700 cannot do remote shooting or is there some setting I need to change?

Offline reyalp

Re: Help with CHDKPTP remote shooting on A700
« Reply #1 on: 14 / January / 2022, 18:51:46 »
I am trying to use an A700 under PC control. CHKD is installed on the camera and working. CHDKPTP is installed (as well as LINUSB drivers) and it works. When the camera is in playback mode CHDKPTP connects and sees the files in the camera.  When I slide the camera switch to shooting mode the camera vanishes from CHDKPTP. Sliding the switch back to playback makes it reappear. Is this because the A700 cannot do remote shooting or is there some setting I need to change?
You should use the chdkptp 'rec' command or GUI button, rather than the physical switch on the camera.
Don't forget what the H stands for.

« Reply #2 on: 14 / January / 2022, 19:06:36 »
Thank you for the quick reply. When I hit the "rec" button in the gui it says "ERROR: not connected" even though the "Files" tab still works and linbus is still listed in the top right drop down.

Offline reyalp

« Reply #3 on: 14 / January / 2022, 20:00:48 »