Multi Camera Long Term Time Lapse - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

Multi Camera Long Term Time Lapse

• 8 Replies

Offline JvdP

Multi Camera Long Term Time Lapse
« on: 27 / August / 2013, 10:16:33 »
Advertisements
I bought 3 Canon Ixus 240HS. I know there is no official release yet, but I have seen people in the dedicated thread with successful ports. I will use all three camera's to make a time lapse (inside) from several angles, for several weeks.

The challenges:

• Powering the camera's> Will try make external power source
  • Getting the photos off the camera's while they are not easily accessible > Use Wifi? USB cable?
  • Stop time lapse at night time > Scripting? Motion detection?
  • No internet available at location, but could set up an access point/laptop.

What do you guys think about this? Anyone experience with long term time lapses? What about retrieving the photos remotely?

Re: Multi Camera Long Term Time Lapse
« Reply #1 on: 27 / August / 2013, 12:09:29 »
You will definitely need external power - either an A/C power pack or a large battery and DC-DC converter.

This script might be of interest :  http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/Ultimate_Intervalometer
Ported :   A1200    SD940   G10    Powershot N    G16

Offline JvdP

« Reply #2 on: 27 / August / 2013, 12:11:39 »
Thanks for the script tip! I will check it out.

What about image retrieval? This has been the most challenging, actually. Especially since some camera's will be difficult to reach.

« Reply #3 on: 27 / August / 2013, 12:15:07 »
Thanks for the script tip! I will check it out.

What about image retrieval? This has been the most challenging, actually. Especially since some camera's will be difficult to reach.
If you can use a long USB cable that would be easiest.   

Otherwise, search this forum for eye-fi cards.  Unfortunately, I do not believe there is a definitive posting that guarantees success.  YMMV.