IXUS 130 (SD1400 IS) Porting Thread - DryOS Development - CHDK Forum
supplierdeeply

IXUS 130 (SD1400 IS) Porting Thread

• 288 Replies

Offline emlyn

IXUS 130 (SD1400 IS) Porting Thread
« on: 12 / April / 2010, 08:57:47 »
Advertisements
I recently bought an IXUS130 (I believe its called SD1400 IS in the USA) to complement my DSLR, as I wanted something portable that I could keep with me at all times. I was originally planning on getting either an S90, but that was slightly above my budget, or something with CHDK already available. However everything I could find with CHDK already ported was both more expensive, and with fewer features than the newer models, so in the end I decided on the IXUS130 as it is very compact and also does HD video, so it can replace my camcorder.

I would really like to get CHDK working on it, but I have no experience porting (or even using) it. I think the first step is to dump the firmware, so I first tried with udumper:
I formatted a 128 MB SD card in the camera, made it bootable using the instructions from:
http://scruss.com/blog/2010/01/10/perhaps-a-slightly-easier-way-to-make-sd-cards-bootable-for-chdk-under-os-x/
then I copied the diskboot.bin and empty.dum files from udumper to the SD card.
With both diskboot.bin files (for VxWorks and DryOS) the camera would just boot normally then display "Memory card locked".
Then I found CardTricks - I couldn't get my SD card to mount in a Windows VM, but I found a newdryos.bin file which I renamed to diskboot.bin and copied to the SD card. With this one the camera crashes when I switch it on, which I understand is expected behaviour, but nothing is changed on the SD card, the empty.dum file is still entirely zeroes.

I'm not sure what else I can try with udumper, so I think I'll have to start looking into blinking. If I understand correctly, I'll have to get a compiler toolchain set up (presumably the same that is used to compile CHDK?), and find the addresses of the LEDs.