SX 230 HS + CHDK + Rawtherapee - RAW Shooting and Processing - CHDK Forum

SX 230 HS + CHDK + Rawtherapee

• 4 Replies
SX 230 HS + CHDK + Rawtherapee
« on: 10 / October / 2011, 14:36:36 »
Advertisements
I am a newbie here and I wish to thank first the developers of this piece of software.

I am running the beta version of CHDK on a SX 230 HS. I am accustomed to DPP which I use with an EOS 1000D.  Rawtherapee is new to me and it is a nice soft once you have mourned DPP's out of the box colors and contrast.

As already stated in this forum, Canon's jpeg are nice and it is hard to beat them. I am just starting to obtain pictures that are, in my opinion, more pleasant than the original jpeg.

I have a number of questions and your assistance would be helpful:

1- The raw files size amount to 18Mo. That is huge compared to EOS 1000D raws. Is there any possibility to use a lossless compression that would save some space?

2- Once processed with rawtherapee, the average size amounts to 72 Mo. Same question again.
The original raw size has nothing to do with rawtherapee but the size of the processed file can probably be impacted by the software. Is rawtherapee png format size consuming? What would be the alternative recommended software that would allow similar results.

3- When using the raw average function I obtain, as scheduled, a .wav file. I am unable to read, convert and process this file. Is there a step I have missed ?

4- I can also mention that frequently, when starting the camera I have to reselect the option for raw.

5- The battery consumption of the SX 230 HS is unbelievable. I have unselected all gps options but it is nevertheless mandatory to have a second battery for a one day shooting. Is it certain that GPS is completely stopped through the options of the Canon menu or would it be an interesting addition to insert, in the alternate menu, a function disabling completely the GPS?

Re: SX 230 HS + CHDK + Rawtherapee