Hello from a Magic Lantern dev - General Chat - CHDK Forum

Hello from a Magic Lantern dev

• 4 Replies
Hello from a Magic Lantern dev
« on: 21 / November / 2022, 08:55:22 »
Advertisements
Hi, just wanted to give a quick intro.  I'm a Magic Lantern dev (probably the most active current dev?), and I've finally got around to making an account here.  I'll try not to be annoying, please let me know if I'm breaking community rules etc.  I have I suppose a medium level of experience, I started on ML about 3 years ago.  I have a strong background in C, x86 asm, and general reverse engineering, but ARM was new to me.

I'll probably mostly lurk and sometimes borrow code for ML.  I wanted to be able to post relevant ML breakthroughs here, when I guess there might be stuff CHDK could use in what we find or make.

=== ML Digic 6, 7, 8 (X) support ===
My repo: https://github.com/reticulatedpines/magiclantern_simplified/commits/dev
Most of my work is trying to get ML working on more recent cams - without breaking old cams.  Quite a lot has changed and some old ML code assumes behaviour that is universal on Digic 4 and 5 but doesn't work on 6 and up.  Still, we are making progress and have working ML GUI on at least 6 different models (we understand the boot process well enough on D678X cams, and these all use XIMR rendering too).  I made a stable, but very feature restricted release for 200D recently.

I have integrated srsa's MMU proof of concept code and made the necessary changes to support the existing ML APIs for patching (not unpatching yet, that's more work).  Thanks srsa!  It's as thread / core safe as I know how to make it (cpu0 commands cpu1 to wfi sleep, does the MMU table and mem patches, then uses a custom interrupt handler to wake cpu1 which updates its tables).

=== Qemu ===