Neither WASP nor sdminste will allow me to swap partitions - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

Neither WASP nor sdminste will allow me to swap partitions

• 17 Replies
Neither WASP nor sdminste will allow me to swap partitions
« on: 28 / October / 2015, 18:46:02 »
Advertisements
Hi. I'm running CHDK off a dual partition SD card and neither WASP nor sdminste will swap partitions for me. Both recognize the card and seem to go through the proper steps, but the accessible partition won't actually change. Any help or suggestions for alternative ways to swap partitions would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Re: Neither WASP nor sdminste will allow me to swap partitions
« Reply #1 on: 28 / October / 2015, 18:58:38 »
Hi. I'm running CHDK off a dual partition SD card and neither WASP nor sdminste will swap partitions for me. Both recognize the card and seem to go through the proper steps, but the accessible partition won't actually change. Any help or suggestions for alternative ways to swap partitions would be much appreciated. Thanks.
Well, there has been nothing reported as being wrong with either of those utilities for several years now.  So that leave a user error on your end as the most likely issue.  We will need a bit more information before being able to help here.  Please tell us :
  • Camera model.  (Cameras released after 2010 don't support dual partitions.)
  • How did you configure the dual partition card in the first place?
  • SD card size.
  • What happens when you try to swap partitions? How do you know it hasn't changed? Please provide more detail.

As far as alternate methods of swapping the active partition goes,  you could try the  Swap partitions menu option in the CHDK SD card menu.
« Last Edit: 28 / October / 2015, 19:00:15 by waterwingz »
Ported :   A1200    SD940   G10    Powershot N    G16

« Reply #2 on: 28 / October / 2015, 19:19:10 »
Thanks for the response.

1)SX20 IS