Detailed camera time adjustment - Feature Requests - CHDK Forum
supplierdeeply

Detailed camera time adjustment

• 4 Replies
Detailed camera time adjustment
« on: 15 / January / 2011, 23:46:22 »
Advertisements
Hey guys,

First post, but I've been using CHDK for 3+ years on my A610, and loving it! Just a big thank you to all the devs, testers, and community!

I just had an idea while geo-tagging my photos: Is it possible for CHDK to change the system clock of the camera down to the seconds? This will better facilitate syncing the camera time to GPS time.

The default time adjustment function of the camera only goes down to minutes, and a camera can change locations by a few km's in that minute (if you were on a car or train, for example), so accuracy down to seconds is crucial for geotagging to be useful. At the moment I'd have to manually sync the time by:
  • Taking a photo of my GPS tracker while I press the POI button on it
  • Uploading the photo and GPS track to my computer
  • Finding that POI point on the computer
  • Working out the time difference between that POI and the photo I took
  • Time-shifting all the photos in that batch to match the GPS time
Which is a tedious process, to say the least :D

I see that CHDK can see the system clock down to seconds, but can it change it? Perhaps even provide a way to reset the seconds to zero with one menu option (similar to the radio-time-sync function on many clocks in cars). This would make keeping the camera time synced to GPS time so much easier!

Slightly off topic, is there a website which displays actual real-time GPS time? The only ones I've found get the time from the user's own computer (which it takes to be UTC/GMT+timezone), then works out offsets unique to the GPS time system; if the user's computer's time is off, the GPS time is off too...

Thanks for your replies!

Offline reyalp

Re: Detailed camera time adjustment
« Reply #1 on: 16 / January / 2011, 01:30:13 »