Manual Focus @ Infinity not working - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum
supplierdeeply

Manual Focus @ Infinity not working

• 151 Replies
Manual Focus @ Infinity not working
« on: 27 / October / 2014, 09:24:16 »
Advertisements
Hi,

When I set CHDK Manual Focus @ Infinity, the camera doesn't correctly focus.

When I disable it and use the camera's default focus setting at infinity (using one of the options presented when pressing its left key), the camera gets correctly focused.

What am I missing? What should I do so that CHDK Manual Focus correctly focus the camera at infinity?

The following image shows two photos side-by-side, where the leftmost was taken using canon's default infinity focus setting and the other using CHDK manual focus set @ infinity. It's not dificult to see that the leftmost is sharper than the other.

Attached, EXIF mnote info for each one of the photos:
« Last Edit: 27 / October / 2014, 10:10:11 by oneaty »
Canon A3100IS - 100d
CHDK a3100-100d-1.2.0-3643-full_ALPHA

Offline ahull

Re: Manual Focus @ Infinity not working
« Reply #1 on: 27 / October / 2014, 13:15:06 »
Hmm... they do look remarkably similar.

Code: [Select]
diff exif-mnote_7434 exif-mnote_7442
56c56
< Measured EV         |10,84 EV
---
> Measured EV         |10,97 EV
75c75
< Exposure Time       |1/649
---
> Exposure Time       |1/708
78c78
< Unknown Tag         |0x000d
---
> Unknown Tag         |0x0011
89c89
< Image Number        |132-7434
---
> Image Number        |132-7442

.. not sure if there is any significant  in that "Unknown Tag"

« Reply #2 on: 27 / October / 2014, 13:16:07 »
Manual focussing via CHDK works better on some cameras than others.  It also works a lot better in the 1.3.0 version of CHDK than the previous versions.  More information about that can be found here : Setting focus from scripts or menus