supplierdeeply

NEWBIE S95 failure....

  • 12 Replies
  • 2168 Views
NEWBIE S95 failure....
« on: 04 / February / 2015, 15:52:32 »
Advertisements
Spent about three weeks reading over CHDK site.  Planning on sending a couple cameras up to take some near space pics.  read that the canon s95 is pretty easy to work with....Camera comes in today.. I find the firmware with CameraVision, to find that there wasn't a hack for this firmware version:

Firmware revision     : 1.00 rev b.00

I at first couldn't believe it... so I download STICK, to really dummy proof it.  bummer again.   It sounds like this is going to be a lost cause camera unless I can somehow replace the original firmware.. it is a nice camera though.  is there any work around for this or am I missing something?

I have a back up camera coming, a Canon A3300 IS.  I had read that this should have some good stable hacks available.  I guess there is no real good way to know what firmware you are getting until you have it in hand.

is there anybody out there that knows of a reliably hackable canon with at least 10 MP resolution? 

thanks for looking!

*

Offline philmoz

  • *****
  • 3070
    • Photos
Re: NEWBIE S95 failure....
« Reply #1 on: 04 / February / 2015, 16:10:58 »
Spent about three weeks reading over CHDK site.  Planning on sending a couple cameras up to take some near space pics.  read that the canon s95 is pretty easy to work with....Camera comes in today.. I find the firmware with CameraVision, to find that there wasn't a hack for this firmware version:

Firmware revision     : 1.00 rev b.00

I at first couldn't believe it... so I download STICK, to really dummy proof it.  bummer again.   It sounds like this is going to be a lost cause camera unless I can somehow replace the original firmware.. it is a nice camera though.  is there any work around for this or am I missing something?

Adding support for a new firmware version for an existing camera is fairly easy these days.

If you dump the firmware from your S95, upload it to a fileshare site and post the link here we can look at adding a new version. Firmware dumping instructions can be found here http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/Canon_Basic/Scripts/Dumper

Phil.
CHDK ports:
  sx30is (1.00c, 1.00h, 1.00l, 1.00n & 1.00p)
  g12 (1.00c, 1.00e, 1.00f & 1.00g)
  sx130is (1.01d & 1.01f)
  ixus310hs (1.00a & 1.01a)
  sx40hs (1.00d, 1.00g & 1.00i)
  g1x (1.00e, 1.00f & 1.00g)

Re: NEWBIE S95 failure....
« Reply #2 on: 04 / February / 2015, 18:11:15 »



If you dump the firmware from your S95, upload it to a fileshare site and post the link here we can look at adding a new version. Firmware dumping instructions can be found here http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/Canon_Basic/Scripts/Dumper

Phil.
[/quote]

thanks for the quick reply.  i reformatted my card in prep, but am having trouble figuring out actually how to get the script on the card. Do I cut and paste it into notebook then rename the file (how do I get rid of the .txt in windows 7?)  or is there another program I should be using to copy script to?  thanks for your help, I am very new at this and am continuing to learn!

uanslob aka phil as well :)

*

Offline philmoz

  • *****
  • 3070
    • Photos
Re: NEWBIE S95 failure....
« Reply #3 on: 04 / February / 2015, 18:20:50 »



If you dump the firmware from your S95, upload it to a fileshare site and post the link here we can look at adding a new version. Firmware dumping instructions can be found here http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/Canon_Basic/Scripts/Dumper

Phil.

thanks for the quick reply.  i reformatted my card in prep, but am having trouble figuring out actually how to get the script on the card. Do I cut and paste it into notebook then rename the file (how do I get rid of the .txt in windows 7?)  or is there another program I should be using to copy script to?  thanks for your help, I am very new at this and am continuing to learn!

uanslob aka phil as well :)

You need to prepare the card in order to run the script (follow the link at the top of the dumper page to instructions on preparing the card). I suggest using a small (<=2GB) spare card for this.

Copy the script code to a file called 'extend.m' onto the card - if you use Windows and Notepad you may need to show extensions in Windows Explorer to get rid of the .txt extensions. In Windows 7, select Folder Options from the Tools menu, then select the View tab and finally uncheck the 'Hide extensions for known file types' option.

Phil.
CHDK ports:
  sx30is (1.00c, 1.00h, 1.00l, 1.00n & 1.00p)
  g12 (1.00c, 1.00e, 1.00f & 1.00g)
  sx130is (1.01d & 1.01f)
  ixus310hs (1.00a & 1.01a)
  sx40hs (1.00d, 1.00g & 1.00i)
  g1x (1.00e, 1.00f & 1.00g)


Re: NEWBIE S95 failure....
« Reply #4 on: 04 / February / 2015, 19:06:15 »



If you dump the firmware from your S95, upload it to a fileshare site and post the link here we can look at adding a new version. Firmware dumping instructions can be found here http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/Canon_Basic/Scripts/Dumper

Phil.

thanks for the quick reply.  i reformatted my card in prep, but am having trouble figuring out actually how to get the script on the card. Do I cut and paste it into notebook then rename the file (how do I get rid of the .txt in windows 7?)  or is there another program I should be using to copy script to?  thanks for your help, I am very new at this and am continuing to learn!

uanslob aka phil as well :)

You need to prepare the card in order to run the script (follow the link at the top of the dumper page to instructions on preparing the card). I suggest using a small (<=2GB) spare card for this.

Copy the script code to a file called 'extend.m' onto the card - if you use Windows and Notepad you may need to show extensions in Windows Explorer to get rid of the .txt extensions. In Windows 7, select Folder Options from the Tools menu, then select the View tab and finally uncheck the 'Hide extensions for known file types' option.

Phil.

getting there now.  I think I need to get a smaller card, I only have ones 8GB and up.  i used the camera to reformat the card using "low level format" that wiped the card completely.   I cut and pasted the scripts for extend.m and sript.req.  placed back in camera and turned it on with play then hit function, even tried zoom out as well, but I got a clock.. checked the card, only the two files I put in there.  I am going to try the other "original simple dumper"  I hope I didnt jack the card doing the low level format.  i also did just a simple cut and paste, but do need to remove that green text or that can stay?  the fun is reaching insanity levels!

uanslob

thanks again. 

*

Offline srsa_4c

  • ******
  • 3689
Re: NEWBIE S95 failure....
« Reply #5 on: 05 / February / 2015, 19:20:40 »
I think I need to get a smaller card, I only have ones 8GB and up.  i used the camera to reformat the card using "low level format" that wiped the card completely.   I cut and pasted the scripts for extend.m and sript.req.  placed back in camera and turned it on with play then hit function, even tried zoom out as well, but I got a clock.. checked the card, only the two files I put in there.  I am going to try the other "original simple dumper"  I hope I didnt jack the card doing the low level format.  i also did just a simple cut and paste, but do need to remove that green text or that can stay?  the fun is reaching insanity levels!
The green comment lines in the scripts don't hurt, they can stay.
However, you seem to have missed a step: you need to prepare the card, formatting it is not enough. See http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/Canon_Basic/Card_Setup#EOScard .

If you have done everything correctly, but you're still unable to run the script, you can try these:
- rotate the mode dial to one of the (semi-)manual modes: Av, Tv, M, P prior to switching on the camera
- shoot a picture, switch off the cam, switch it on in playback mode, try running the script
You only need to press the FUNC/SET button momentarily. The procedure should also work with an 8GB card.

Re: NEWBIE S95 failure....
« Reply #6 on: 07 / February / 2015, 16:14:01 »
i must be doing something inherently wrong in prepping my card
I think I have followed all the steps, in fact I prepped the card I feel correctly, using the EOScard utility.... but I am still failing... I am going to have to keep reading and give it a fresh start tomorrow perhaps...

on an even more frustrating note, my backup cam came in a nice A3300 IS.   I used the stick tool as I thought it was the most dummy proof as it seems like it would do everything for me.   but I was shocked when it said there wasn't a stable hack for me... but it listed that camera firmware version as 100c, for which there was a stable hack for it.  I prepped the card using the EOScard utility, unzipped and copied all the files directly to the new card. FAIL AGAIN!!! 

there must be something inherent that I am missing, some simple step?  I am going to check youtube, maybe there is a post of someone going through the screens..  I also tired to use WICKS, but for some reason I couldn't designate what drive the card was on for it to format the card and upload the hack. 

any areas that I need to re-read or places I need to look.  would be a big help.. 

weeping in the corner, uanslob.

Re: NEWBIE S95 failure....
« Reply #7 on: 07 / February / 2015, 16:50:19 »
I think I have followed all the steps, in fact I prepped the card I feel correctly, using the EOScard utility.... but I am still failing... I am going to have to keep reading and give it a fresh start tomorrow perhaps...
EOSCard can be a bit confusing  There are some notes here : http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/EOScard  It took me a while to realize that the two logo images are actually buttons you have to click to set the mode.  You also have to get the card format write and know which string you are trying to write. 

To make matters more difficult,  the S95 was released prior to 2011 so it needs a dual partition scheme to run CHDK if you use a card larger than 4G.  I think that's why philmoz suggested starting out with a 2G card formated FAT16.

Quote
on an even more frustrating note, my backup cam came in a nice A3300 IS.   I used the stick tool as I thought it was the most dummy proof as it seems like it would do everything for me.   but I was shocked when it said there wasn't a stable hack for me... but it listed that camera firmware version as 100c, for which there was a stable hack for it. 
This might be a bug in STICK.  There is actually not a seperate 1.00c port for the A3300 as it turns out that the 1.00za port runs correctly when loaded on the 1.00c version.  Usually STICK handles this sort of thing properly though - I'll ping zeno/dave.

Quote
I prepped the card using the EOScard utility, unzipped and copied all the files directly to the new card. FAIL AGAIN!!! 
There are many ways to setup your SD card correctly and AFAIK they are all listed here :  http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/Prepare_your_SD_card  Using EOScard would not be my first choice.

Quote
there must be something inherent that I am missing, some simple step?  I am going to check youtube, maybe there is a post of someone going through the screens..
Let us know if you find something good.  Pretty much every video I've seen was done by somebody with about 15 minutes of actual CHDK experience and is either wrong, incomplete or misleading.  I'd be thrilled to see a good one.

« Last Edit: 07 / February / 2015, 16:52:35 by waterwingz »
Ported :   A1200    SD940   G10    Powershot N    G16


Re: NEWBIE S95 failure....
« Reply #8 on: 07 / February / 2015, 17:20:43 »
ZANADU!!! at least for the as3300

I watched a video.. and as the guy is confidently striding over my areas of failure... he got to one part that I was not doing... after loading the card back into the camera and starting up with the play button, I assumed that it would automatically boot up CHDK..... but I didn't realize that I needed to goto the menu and update the firmware.... and there it was... I easily loaded the intervalometer script and away I went!!! 

still not out of the woods with the s95.  will be giving this a go later this evening.  I need to ride this high for a bit before I plunge back in the abyss.  I might try loading one of the other versions and see if I get lucky with the s95.   

thanks for all your help, will keep you posted.

uanslob

Re: NEWBIE S95 failure....
« Reply #9 on: 07 / February / 2015, 17:25:23 »
I watched a video.. and as the guy is confidently striding over my areas of failure... he got to one part that I was not doing... after loading the card back into the camera and starting up with the play button, I assumed that it would automatically boot up CHDK..... but I didn't realize that I needed to goto the menu and update the firmware.... and there it was... I easily loaded the intervalometer script and away I went!!! 
This is actually covered, along with the various methods of loading CHDK (and the limitations) in the link I posted earlier : http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/Prepare_your_SD_card . But it's a lot to read through I guess.  If you want to have CHDK load automatically each time you start the camera, there is a way to do that too.

Quote
still not out of the woods with the s95.  will be giving this a go later this evening.  I need to ride this high for a bit before I plunge back in the abyss.  I might try loading one of the other versions and see if I get lucky with the s95.   
The only one that is likely to have a chance to work is the 1.00e version.
Ported :   A1200    SD940   G10    Powershot N    G16

 

Related Topics