DryOS receive data from UART - DryOS Development - CHDK Forum  

DryOS receive data from UART

• 3 Replies
DryOS receive data from UART
« on: 07 / December / 2015, 22:33:32 »
Advertisements
I am looking to use a position from an external GPS receiver for the geotag position the camera writes.

The output from the GPS receiver is NMEA sentences over a 3.3 v UART, for simplicity it would be ideal if a UART on the camera is used to receive the position.

The camera I have is a SX260, which runs DryOS and has an internal GPS already. A 1.8 v UART is accessible on the SX260, with the same footprint as the SX230 and others.

After reading the CHDK wiki and forums the best I can understand is that receiving UART data on cameras running DryOS is not as straight forward as transmitting data.

I am new to CHDK and am looking to find out if this approach is possible or a dead end.

Most informative forum post:
http://chdk.setepontos.com/index.php?topic=11029.20

Kind regards.

Offline reyalp

Re: DryOS receive data from UART
« Reply #1 on: 08 / December / 2015, 01:04:04 »
I am looking to use a position from an external GPS receiver for the geotag position the camera writes.
Note that even if you get the data from the UART, quite a bit of work will probably be required to actually tag the files. Logging with timestamp and combining later might be more efficient. Taking that a step further, you might be better off just using a GPS that logs by itself without involving the camera and geotag after the fact.
After reading the CHDK wiki and forums the best I can understand is that receiving UART data on cameras running DryOS is not as straight forward as transmitting data.

I am new to CHDK and am looking to find out if this approach is possible or a dead end.
I'm not aware of anyone having done this. It should be possible, but it will take some reverse engineering.
Most informative forum post:
http://chdk.setepontos.com/index.php?topic=11029.20