Update Firmware on a SD1100 IS with firmware vs. 1.0.0.0 - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

Update Firmware on a SD1100 IS with firmware vs. 1.0.0.0

• 4 Replies
Update Firmware on a SD1100 IS with firmware vs. 1.0.0.0
« on: 10 / January / 2017, 15:04:18 »
Advertisements
I have read all the helpful articles on updating to CHDK and they look very simple and straightforward. However, after completing the first steps it appears my firmware isn't within scope, since only the 100A, 100B and 100C are listed. I have checked Canon support and it says there are no firmware updates available for my camera. Is it possible there is a firmware hack on this site? I have the CameraView software for the Mac, and it indicates it can perform a firmware update. I also have access to the SD drive on my PC, and could do it manually from there.

I have a number of other point and shoot cameras but I would like to update this one as it still has a viewfinder, which has been discontinued in later models. Please advise. Thanks!!

Re: Update Firmware on a SD1100 IS with firmware vs. 1.0.0.0
« Reply #1 on: 10 / January / 2017, 15:18:04 »
I have read all the helpful articles on updating to CHDK and they look very simple and straightforward. However, after completing the first steps it appears my firmware isn't within scope, since only the 100A, 100B and 100C are listed. I have checked Canon support and it says there are no firmware updates available for my camera. Is it possible there is a firmware hack on this site? I have the CameraView software for the Mac, and it indicates it can perform a firmware update. I also have access to the SD drive on my PC, and could do it manually from there.

I have a number of other point and shoot cameras but I would like to update this one as it still has a viewfinder, which has been discontinued in later models. Please advise. Thanks!!