Newbie issues, still - - page 9 - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

Newbie issues, still -

  • 146 Replies
  • 103793 Views
Re: Newbie issues, still -
« Reply #80 on: 27 / April / 2009, 01:52:51 »
Advertisements
OK, let's start from the beginning ))) I'm turning on my camera, then press menu -> Firm Update. Then I see CHDK logo loading and additional 'nubers' and battery status on LCD appears - it works. Now I press the button with printer and nothing happens. Then I press menu button - the same old standard menu. Don't know how to get there :(((

Re: Newbie issues, still -
« Reply #81 on: 27 / April / 2009, 01:55:24 »
WOW !!! After print I should press Func Set and it works !!! Thanks !

Re: Newbie issues, still -
« Reply #82 on: 15 / September / 2009, 20:37:18 »
im lost i have a sd790is on 1 of the post it says dl PS.FI2 and diskboot. i did and i drag it in the sd  but i cant seem to get it to work and i dont understand how to start up the camera in review mode help plz im a noob    and all the guide are old i tired the cardtrick or something and it didnt work but the post says if i use ps.fi2 i woudnt need cardtrick ne ways

Re: Newbie issues, still -
« Reply #83 on: 08 / October / 2009, 07:45:43 »
I Purhase a SD400 on Ebay, in the intention to USE CHDK with it. Unfortunatly the camera as ver GM1.01C firmware in it.

Can I change that firmware to an earlier version ex. V1.01B in order to be able to use CHDK ?
On the Canon site I was not able to find the previous version. When I enter the serial number, I'M told that the camera already have the latest firmware in it.

Thanks


*

Offline fe50

  • ******
  • 3147
  • IXUS50 & 860, SX10 Star WARs-Star RAWs
    • fe50
Re: Newbie issues, still -
« Reply #84 on: 08 / October / 2009, 10:05:11 »
Hello & welcome, ve2wmg !

I Purhase a SD400 on Ebay, in the intention to USE CHDK with it. Unfortunatly the camera as ver GM1.01C firmware in it.

Can I change that firmware to an earlier version ex. V1.01B in order to be able to use CHDK ?
On the Canon site I was not able to find the previous version. When I enter the serial number, I'M told that the camera already have the latest firmware in it.

No, a downgrade is not possible. The newest fw update version from the Canon pages is the 1.01b...
The fw version 1.05a was also reported to work with one of the available CHDK versions (1.01a or 1.01b), so give them a try...
If the camera crashes, just remove the battery...maybe one of the available version run on the 1.0C.

Otherwise you can provide a dump of your fw, so the developers can have a look to it...

You can dump your fw with Cardtricks (use "VxWorks" method)

* Use Cardtricks with an empty SD card (max. 2GB size !),
  select your card, press the VxWorks button, read all the messages carefully & follow them.
* Lock the card (important !), insert it & start up the camera - you'll see NO activity,
  just wait 30 seconds, then remove the batteries & the card.
* Insert the card in your card reader, start Cardtricks again, select your card & press Strings.
* Now you should see some strings from the firmware; close the window, click Clean in Cardtricks,
  then store the cleaned dump on your hard disk.
* Zip this file and upload it somewhere, e.g. at a free file hoster like http://www.zshare.net,
  then post the link to this fw dump on this thread here in the forum:
  [DOWNLOAD LINKS] Firmware dumps available.

« Last Edit: 09 / October / 2009, 03:07:19 by fe50 »

*

Offline whim

  • ******
  • 2046
  • A495/590/620/630 ixus70/115/220/230/300/870 S95
Re: Newbie issues, still -
« Reply #85 on: 08 / October / 2009, 10:35:06 »
@fe50
@ve2wmg
Quote
You can dump your fw with Cardtricks (use "NewDryOS" method)

According to camera.h ixus50_sd500 is a VxWorks cam, i would try "VxWorks" method first  :D

HTH,

wim

*

Offline fe50

  • ******
  • 3147
  • IXUS50 & 860, SX10 Star WARs-Star RAWs
    • fe50
Re: Newbie issues, still -
« Reply #86 on: 09 / October / 2009, 03:06:19 »
According to camera.h ixus50_sd500 is a VxWorks cam, i would try "VxWorks" method first  :D
LOL - forgot to edit that...

Re: Newbie issues, still -
« Reply #87 on: 13 / October / 2009, 14:01:13 »
Hello all!

I recently purchased the Canon PowerShot SX200 IS and am trying to get the CHDK to install.
I extracted the "sx200is-100c-0.9.8-816-full_BETA.zip" files onto my SanDisk ULTRA 2GB card and then followed the 'Install Instructions' in the Readme text.

However, I can't seem to get my True Frimware to show up after pressing the 'Set' and 'Display' buttons in Playback mode. Also, the 'Firmware Update' Option doesn't show up in my menu either.

Has anyone else encountered this problem?? I really need the ability to capture the RAW information of my pictures.

Help is much appreciated!!



Re: Newbie issues, still -
« Reply #88 on: 13 / October / 2009, 14:16:50 »
ohh..another note....I have tried with both the 'ver.req' and the 'vers.req' files on my card, and neither bring up the firware info.  I still only get the clock... ;)

Do the files need to be in a certain folder?? or can they be in the root directory "E:/"

Thank you! :D

*

Offline whim

  • ******
  • 2046
  • A495/590/620/630 ixus70/115/220/230/300/870 S95
Re: Newbie issues, still -
« Reply #89 on: 13 / October / 2009, 14:50:15 »
@dabrera

it MUST be in the root folder, or it won't work ...
double-check if you're sure the files have the proper name - make sure extension is .req  (last letter is Q not G)

also, if you created ver(s).req by hand, double-check before saving that "Save as type" is set to "All files";
if you don't, Windows notepad will add .txt after your typed name ...

lastly, don't forget you need to hold down Func/Set while pressing "Down" key (SX200 doesn't have a separate "Disp")

hth,

wim

 

Related Topics