CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie! - page 2 - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie!

  • 83 Replies
  • 57496 Views
*

Offline adcz

  • ***
  • 151
  • Canon S5 | Before Thou Smiteth Me, Readeth Sig
    • OSFlower
Re: CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie!
« Reply #10 on: 07 / June / 2008, 15:02:54 »
Advertisements
@adcz

- DL the trunk sources https://tools.assembla.com/chdk/browser/trunk
- unzip to folder of your choice
- in the 'include' subdirectory, search for camera.h
- property #defines for supported cams are in there, look for
  CAM_HAS_DRYOS, or sth like that (sorry, no source handy at the moment)

wim

thanks whim! That looks handy...I never even knew that site existed O.o. what more is there to CHDK that I don't know :D

Quote
@adcz

also in the wikia Cameras overview...
Oooh that looks easier :) thanks!
Email me at adz@jewc.org for questions/comments/etc or aim me at adzempire!
---
STOP!! Before thou smiteth me, please PM me the reason! . Criticism = bad, constructive criticism = good.

If you wanna applaud, no reason necessary, I know I'm wonderful :P

*

Offline PhyrePhoX

  • *****
  • 2254
  • make RAW not WAR
    • PhyreWorX
Re: CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie!
« Reply #11 on: 07 / June / 2008, 15:04:24 »
@adcz

- DL the trunk sources https://tools.assembla.com/chdk/browser/trunk
- unzip to folder of your choice
- in the 'include' subdirectory, search for camera.h
- property #defines for supported cams are in there, look for
  CAM_HAS_DRYOS, or sth like that (sorry, no source handy at the moment)

wim

no need for unzipping, my friend. https://tools.assembla.com/chdk/browser/trunk/include/camera.h here you can see camera.h directly :)


thanks whim! That looks handy...I never even knew that site existed O.o. what more is there to CHDK that I don't know :D

this is due to the fact that you havent read "into" the forum entirely, if you know what i'm trying to say. read, read, read :)

edit: by the way, this trac/assembla site also offers a pretty good timeline, you can find the link to it in my sig. these changes you see there are changes the devs implement in the actual code. they are not neccessarily new features, but a lot of them will lead to new features, bugfixes etc. these changes somehow make it into an official build eventually (with an extra announcement), however you can find binaries that already include these changes in grands autobuild server.
« Last Edit: 07 / June / 2008, 15:15:28 by PhyrePhoX »

*

Offline GrAnd

  • ****
  • 916
  • [A610, S3IS]
    • CHDK
Re: CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie!
« Reply #12 on: 07 / June / 2008, 15:21:12 »
One more way how to determine which camera is DryOs-based... :)
For VxWorks-based camera the installation archive contain 2 files: PS.FIR and DISKBOOT.BIN. The DryOS-based - only the second file.
So, look at the list of distributives. If the file size is more than 200K - the camera is VxWorks based. It the size of archive is less than 100K - it's DryOS. :)


I was born in Moscow, Russia...

He-he... Zemlyaki... :D
« Last Edit: 07 / June / 2008, 15:26:29 by GrAnd »
CHDK Developer.

Re: CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie!
« Reply #13 on: 25 / October / 2008, 21:51:08 »
HELLO guys, newbie here :)

I am very excited about using this CHDK - I was originally looking for an SX10 (cause I really like the 28mm feature which S5IS lacks, plus the battery and SD card slot are in two separate places unlike S5IS), but have been griping about the Powershot models (S5IS and above) not having the time lapse feature... until I googled and FOUND this wonderful website.

i've tried S5IS before (bought one for my uncle) and  I dont want to wait for SX10 CHDK (could be waiting for another 6-8 months before CHDK for SX10 surfaces), so I am thinking about getting S5IS again.

However, while checking out the CHDK FAQ, I saw the following note:
FAQ - CHDK Wiki

"Many believe that using the CHDK does not harm your warranty, since it is said to be loaded into the memory only temporarily (turn off the cam and it's gone completely) and that it leaves the original camera firmware untouched."

How would I use CHDK for my S5IS given the following:

(a) I understand after loading the CHDK into an SD card, the SD card has to be write-protected

(b) I'll need to swap to another SD card when taking pictures but S5IS has this idiotic feature of having both the batteries and the SD card slots in one compartment, so opening the compartment will turn off the camera i.e., wiping out the CHDK  :(

Any input would be greatly appreciated!


Re: CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie!
« Reply #14 on: 25 / October / 2008, 22:31:34 »
Sorry guys, I saw this following statement on the same FAQ CHDK Wiki page:

"You will have to write-protect your SD card everytime you want to use CHDK, but this will still allow you to take pictures. "


I read further and found that CHDK is good for FAT16 - and FAT16 works for up to 4GB SD cards only (I say SD since S5IS uses SD cards :D).  Then I poked around further and found THIS page :

MIND - FIELDS: careful where you stand: Canon S5 IS CHDK hack step-by-step tutorial


Just wondering if anyone has ever tried those steps for their S5IS CHDK card (8GB and above)?

*

Offline fe50

  • ******
  • 3134
  • IXUS50 & 860, SX10 Star WARs-Star RAWs
    • fe50
Re: CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie!
« Reply #15 on: 26 / October / 2008, 06:04:11 »
Hello punsoca, welcome in the CHDK forum !

The 'write protection' is only a software thing, with CHDK your camera CAN write as normal to the card. You can also prepare a card reader hardware to ignore the write protection, this way you can always use your card locked, in the camera and in your card reader... (Modify a card reader)

As many other cameras the S5 supports the 'multi partition support', this means: SDHC cards with a capacity > 4GB can be used.

With MS Windows you can handle such a card in 2 ways (Windows only shows one partition for SD cards in a card reader):

  • Swap between the partitions, e.g. with the installer tool from the StereoData Maker ('SDM' - a CHDK version specialised for stereo photographers), see here.
  • Use a special driver for your card reader to let Windows handle all partitions on a card, as described in the article you've posted.

*

Offline whim

  • ******
  • 2041
  • A495/590/620/630 ixus70/115/220/230/300/870 S95
Re: CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie!
« Reply #16 on: 26 / October / 2008, 06:26:12 »
here Autoboot with 8GB and HDHacker Possibillity is a large thread that kind of describes what various
people have tried to get support for large cards (including the method used in your link)


hope that helps

wim
« Last Edit: 26 / October / 2008, 06:30:29 by whim »

Re: CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie!
« Reply #17 on: 30 / October / 2008, 21:32:33 »
thank you thank you guys!  Now I get it :)

Next step - find a store that actually sells S5IS at a decent price.  I just checked Circuit City here in my area and they are selling it for $349.99.  I asked the store clerk and he said to wait for 2-3 months and there might be a better deal.


I totally missed the OfficeMax sale from last Memorial weekend!   But then I only learned about CHDK now.

Am so totally looking forward to use the Intervalometer (time lapse) script.   

Speaking of time lapse - have you guys used the Time Bandit for S5IS?  I know the concept is the same as the Intervalometer but with a difference - heard that Time Bandit can group the shots together into a mini-AVI movie file, is that true?

Again thanks so much for the warm welcome and generosity (in sharing)!


*

Offline fe50

  • ******
  • 3134
  • IXUS50 & 860, SX10 Star WARs-Star RAWs
    • fe50
Re: CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie!
« Reply #18 on: 31 / October / 2008, 04:31:03 »
...heard that Time Bandit can group the shots together into a mini-AVI movie file, is that true?
No, that's NOT true, it's not possible to create the movie in the camera, you have to create it outside, e.g. on your PC with VirtualDub or a similar sofware.

*

Offline Pier

  • ***
  • 128
Re: CHDK what? Help me, I'm a newbie!
« Reply #19 on: 31 / October / 2008, 12:59:19 »
Help Me Please,
I made a big mistake.When I made 2 Gb SD card for my A460 bootable with 29_winbootable.exe -
FAT 16, I forgot to select true letter G for the card, and sellected C drive Die !!
I haven't drive anymore - with very important info.I'm not newby with computers and
try to turn things back with several Rescue software but no rezult.
The answer is -The Drive is not Formated !
Please tell me what to do.File system was NTFS (Have NTFS4DOS diskete for acces the drive), but when
try, the Partition ( C) is not highlighted, and lettere C not exist (there is ? for lettere) only D partition on the drive is acsessible (logical partition).
I realy need Help.Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: 01 / November / 2008, 02:42:15 by Pier »

 

Related Topics