Ixus 80 IS - General Discussion and Assistance - CHDK Forum  

Ixus 80 IS

• 5 Replies
Ixus 80 IS
« on: 05 / March / 2008, 10:12:43 »
Advertisements
Hi everybody! Im new to CHDK and this forum. I want to buy a camera from canon. I put my eye on the Ixus 80 IS. I like the idea of an optical stabilisation feature (hope it works). Now my question, will there be a release for this camera or is the os to different from the previous ones?

Does anybody have any expirience with this camera?? Thx for feedback
Locutus

Re: Ixus 80 IS
« Reply #1 on: 14 / March / 2008, 22:18:18 »
I only learned of the existence of CHDK yesterday, but I did some digging through the FAQ and forums since this camera is on my short list of ones I might buy.

The Ixus 80 IS / SD1100 IS uses the new DRYOS OS according to the For Developers - CHDK Wiki.

The good news is the first couple of cameras using DRYOS have been ported successfully, with some limitations, so I think there is nothing theoretically stopping this camera from eventually getting included.  The bad news is I have not seen any mention of work being done on this particular camera yet.

If I've understood what I've read, the first step is someone getting a firmware dump from the camera and making it available.  If you have some technical proficiency, consider buying the camera and getting the ball rolling.  If the steps are a bit too involved, however, there is nothing to do but wait and hope someone else decides to tackle it.  There is certainly no shortage of talent here.

Offline whoever

• IXUS950
« Reply #2 on: 15 / March / 2008, 07:39:00 »
A couple of DryOS cams have been dumped with the "universal dumper", which is a purely software method (no need to build electronic circuits). You may actually be able to dump the cam without buying it, right under the nose of the camera store manager!