Worked Once, then No - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

Worked Once, then No

• 4 Replies
Worked Once, then No
« on: 14 / August / 2008, 16:48:39 »
Advertisements
Most of the help stuff here applies to people running Windows.  I'm on a Mac.  This is what I did and what happened. I'm hoping someone will be kind enough to explain what is going on.

1) Copied the files diskboot.bin and ps.fir (allbest, 4/11//08) from my Mac to a 4GB SD card.
2) Put the card in my Powershot A630 and powered on in playback mode.
3)Pressed display and set to get "firmware v. 1.0.0.0" screen and clicked OK
4)Pressed the Menu button and got "firm update" & followed up appropriately.
5) used the setting to enable RAW
6) took a few RAW photos
7) went to the Debug Menu to make the card bootable
8) removed the card and put tab in locked position
9) put card back in camera
10) turned camera back on and got a card locked message.  Camera would not take photos
11) took card out, unlocked card, put it back in
12) turned camera back on.  CHDK NOT loaded.  Menu button pressed and "firm update" does not show.

TWO OTHER INCIDENTAL THINGS:

A) After all of this, when I put my card into a card reader and connected it to my Mac, the volume showed on my desk top as "KO NAME", whereas it had originally been "NO NAME".  This kind of strange, since I did not rename it myself

B) The RAW files I took with the camera would not open with the latest version of Adobe Camera Raw (4.5) in either Photoshop CS3 or Lightroom 2.0.

I believe I was following the instructions properly.  Is this worth the trouble if I can't even open the files, assuming I can ever get this programto load properly?

Offline reyalp

Re: Worked Once, then No
« Reply #1 on: 14 / August / 2008, 17:09:58 »