Using CHDK with remote capture - General Discussion and Assistance - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

Using CHDK with remote capture

• 7 Replies

Offline kem

Using CHDK with remote capture
« on: 20 / December / 2008, 13:21:20 »
Advertisements
I am new to the CHDK and think it is really cool!

Can CHDK commands be used in conjunction with remote capture? I would like to do afocal imaging with an A640. Therefore I need the focus set to infinity. The A640 can be remotely controlled from a computer using the Canon SDK. However, the SDK for the compact digital cameras does not include a manual focus set. So, I was wondering if I could set the focus with CHDK and then use the remote control. Any suggestions/comments would be most welcome.
Cheers,
Ken

Re: Using CHDK with remote capture
« Reply #1 on: 20 / December / 2008, 16:48:08 »
I would like to do afocal imaging with an A640.
Is that with a microscope, telescope or spotting scope ?

Therefore I need the focus set to infinity.

You will also need a particular zoom setting to avoid vignetting.

I was wondering if I could set the focus with CHDK and then use the remote control

Write a simple script to zoom and focus to infinity that runs on power-up.

Then enable the USB for download and switch to playback mode to communicate with the capture software.

In SDM, 'Disable USB download' in the Scripts menu is the one that you uncheck.

There is a similar setting in CHDK, I do not know what it is called or which menu it is in.

David
« Last Edit: 20 / December / 2008, 16:49:55 by Microfunguy »

Offline kem

« Reply #2 on: 20 / December / 2008, 17:19:34 »
Hi David,

Thanks for the info. I am actually trying to hook the camera to an ophthalmoscope. So, it has a good amount of eye relief and I can overlap the exit pupil of the ophthalmoscope with the entrance pupil of the camera at a zoom setting. Since the camera will be dedicated, I definitely want this to happen automatically.