SD990 for Aerial Firefighting - General Discussion and Assistance - CHDK Forum

SD990 for Aerial Firefighting

• 19 Replies
SD990 for Aerial Firefighting
« on: 22 / January / 2009, 00:45:07 »
Advertisements
Hello,
I'm a wildfire attack pilot and would like to use the Canon SD990 IS to continuously record fires I'm assigned to. The camera will be attached to the outside of the plane pointing 45 degrees down and to right.  The hi-res photos will be given to the fire teams (fire planners, dispatch, ground crews, GIS/mapping team and others) once we land.

Is it possible to get help with this project and porting CHDK to the SD990?  I'm not a C programmer and have not yet used CHDK, but would like to do whatever I can. I have a SD990 camera already and the hi resolution is great for aerial photographs and fire fighting.  I'm hoping to install and test the camera by April so as to be ready for the fire season starting in May.

My wish/hope is to get a version of CHDK for the sd990 that will do the following from the moment the camera is powered up until it powers down:
- take non-stop continuous pictures at the fastest possible interval.  Hopefully every few seconds.
- write to the 32 GB SD card full res 14.7 MP pictures with normal compression
- Focus always set to infinity
- exposure automatic
- IS on, but I'm not sure this matters
- LCD display always off (to save batteries)

The camera will be turned on just before entering the plane, operate untouched and out or sight. It will be turned off when back on the ground.  We are very busy in the air, so it won't be thought about until back on the ground.  Flight missions over the wildfires are normally about 4.5 hours roundtrip, but can go up to 5.5 hours.  If batteries won't last 5 hours, then maybe lengthening the interval time will be needed.

I hope this is the correct forum to post this message.  If not, sorry, but please tell me where to post, or proceed.

Thank-you,
Mark Zaller
Air Attack Pilot
Columbia, CA