Can CHDK enable USB shutter control? - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum  

Can CHDK enable USB shutter control?

• 5 Replies
Can CHDK enable USB shutter control?
« on: 22 / January / 2009, 12:26:20 »
Advertisements
Does using CHDK enable USB shutter control (e.g. http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/USB_Shutter_Remote) on cameras that don't natively support it (e.g. SD1000)? Some things on the wiki seem to imply that CHDK can control the shutter on all cameras no matter their type, but other things seem to imply that CHDK only allows scripting of existing camera features, and if you can't control the shutter through USB normally (e.g. through gphoto2), then CHDK won't magically make things different.

My second question is: if it is possible to control the shutter via USB using CHDK even on cameras that don't normally support it, is it possible to do this with a USB cable plugged into a computer, rather than a USB cable plugged into a battery/switch mechanism? I can build such a device if necessary--the schematics are very simple--but I'd rather control it from a computer instead. I can probably figure out the necessary signals to send over the port programmatically to produce the desired voltage through trial-and-error, but I wanted to see if anybody else has already done this.

Thanks in advance, and my apologies if I put this in the right place. I did look around and read the FAQ and search the forum etc., so sorry if I missed something obvious!

Offline whim

• A495/590/620/630 ixus70/115/220/230/300/870 S95
Re: Can CHDK enable USB shutter control?
« Reply #1 on: 22 / January / 2009, 12:38:25 »
Take a look here: http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CameraFeatures

and you will see that the trigger voltage is ~ 3.4 V;  USB WakeUp not supported though.

HTH,

wim

« Reply #2 on: 22 / January / 2009, 12:39:38 »
Does using CHDK enable USB shutter control

Yes, on all cameras.

You need to generate +5V pulses.