Two more questions - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum
supplierdeeply

Two more questions

• 2 Replies

Offline dlw

Two more questions
« on: 04 / February / 2009, 16:50:21 »
Advertisements
Folks,

You have been very helpful, and I don't want to be a pest .. but I have a couple of questions.  (I'm running r701 on a g9 1.00f)

1.  When I run the benchmark program in the Debug menu, it never finishes calculating the Screen Read and Memory Read times.  It does complete the Flash-card Read time calculation.  Is this the way it should work?  It's handy to be able to compare SD card speeds in-camera, memory read is probably only important when comparing cameras, and I'm not sure there is such a thing as screen-read anyway . . .

2.  The Remote Parameters menu you get to from the Scripting Parameters menu seems to be the same as the Remote Parameters menu you get to from the Miscellaneous Parameters screen.  Is this for convenience, or is there a difference in the way setting the parameters affects the camera?

Thanks for your help.

Offline fudgey

• a570is
Re: Two more questions
« Reply #1 on: 04 / February / 2009, 17:44:51 »
1.  When I run the benchmark program in the Debug menu, it never finishes calculating the Screen Read and Memory Read times.  It does complete the Flash-card Read time calculation.  Is this the way it should work?  It's handy to be able to compare SD card speeds in-camera, memory read is probably only important when comparing cameras, and I'm not sure there is such a thing as screen-read anyway . . .

Sounds like a bug of some sort... Looks like "Flash-card Write (Mem)" doesn't stop calculating for me on Canon's tiny MMC card (other tests do finish). It does work on a faster 1G SD card... (a570 100e).