How to download DNG/RAW via USB (A590is) - General Help and Assistance on using CHDK stable releases - CHDK Forum  

How to download DNG/RAW via USB (A590is)

• 3 Replies
How to download DNG/RAW via USB (A590is)
« on: 04 / March / 2009, 15:48:50 »
Advertisements
Hi There:

I'm new to CHDK, and one thing I couldn't figure out is how to download the RAW images using a USB connection on my A590is. It keeps on downloading just the JPG files but left the RAW/DNG files on the card. I had to take out the card and use the reader to get the DNG/RAW files. What do I have to do to get the RAW/DNG with just a USB connection, so I don't have to open that battery door everytime I need to get the pics?

Thanks.

Ciac

Offline whim

• A495/590/620/630 ixus70/115/220/230/300/870 S95
Re: How to download DNG/RAW via USB (A590is)
« Reply #1 on: 04 / March / 2009, 17:03:15 »
AFAIK the Canon software only copies certain file extensions, and they aren't even the same for all cams ...

experiment with the extension for your DNG & CRW and you should get it working, IIRC at least WAV, THM and JPG
are supported by the Canon transfer soft.

(not sure though, i'm strictly a cardreader person myself: i tend to be more worried about my USB mini port)

HTH,

wim

« Reply #2 on: 04 / March / 2009, 17:40:27 »
just tested it using picasa (I never installed the Canon software, and wonder if I'd missed anything) and apparently CRW and CR2 works (not THM, DNG, didn't try WAV.. and .jpg would just be too confusing). There's still a checkmark at the bottom at "DNG format". I suppose it's just the compression method irrespective of the extension?