Help with Shutter Speed within a UAV platform (Camera hard to get to) - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

Help with Shutter Speed within a UAV platform (Camera hard to get to)

• 3 Replies
Advertisements
Hello All...

To preface, I hope people don't think this is a lazy post; I am actively soaking in knowledge from the various sources regarding the CHDK framework.  I can't wait until I can become a poweruser!

The setup: I am trying to use the CHDK framework on a Canon SD1100IS that has been built within an R/C Airplane that has been setup for UAV (unmanned aerial vehicle).  This makes it very difficult to access the camera and play with the various CHDK settings; this requires an actual UAV flight to take pictures.

Currently, I have the SD1100IS setup using a USB Trigger Script and autoload.  The setup works very well, with the exception of 75% of the pictures coming out with blur.  I want to adjust the shutter speed and other settings, as the camera is oriented straight downward.  The images are always moving ~60 KPH.

I did four flights today after playing with the OSD settings, without much success.  I had to set these values each flight (pain in the butt):

- Main Menu
-- Extra Photo Operations
--- Value factor = 1
--- Override shutter speed = (tried both) 5 / 8.3

After the flights, I found that the images came out completely WHITE.  There were a few photos that actually did come out: when the plane was on the ground (thus a blury grass picture or a good shot of my shue).  Both cases I was in the shade and objects were close to the camera.

What I ultimately like is the following:

- All magical settings that need to work (i.e. a 1/1000 or ? ? ? shutter speed) set within my default USB trigger script. 

This way it is a fire and forget.  If anyone knows how to do that, .... :)