Code documentation - General Discussion and Assistance - CHDK Forum  

Code documentation

• 9 Replies
Code documentation
« on: 04 / May / 2009, 07:10:56 »
Advertisements
Hello,

I am a software developer and new to CHDK and very interested in the CHDK.
My questions is, is there any source code documentation available?
If I read e.g. kbd.c there is only poor documentation inside, very difficult to understand the 'big picture'.
If one wants to extend or improve code/functionality, it is important to understand the code first.
This would be much easier if a good documentation exists, is there any?

Thanks for any help, best regards.

2 x IXUS 860IS 100c
2 x Powershot S110 103a

Re: Code documentation
« Reply #1 on: 04 / May / 2009, 07:21:43 »
there is http://chdk.setepontos.com/index.php?topic=2214.0
and then there is a wiki, in which the basic code is explained ( http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/For_Developers ). But the code itself is commented very poorly, that is true.

« Reply #2 on: 04 / May / 2009, 09:33:56 »
Hello Ailurus fulgens,

thanks for your reply, but this I already know.
Since this is an open source project, there should be a much better documentation available like it is now.
The so called 'CHDK sourcecode Documentation' (http://chdk.setepontos.com/index.php/topic,2214.0.html) does not really help. It just shows the code but without additional explanation.
I want to know which code function is related to which camera function. What is the code inside the functions doing.
Only the developer who originally programmed the functions, knows what the variables, subroutines, etc. are for.
But if the community (me included) can/should improve, it is mandatory that the code is explained in more detail to the community.
E.g. I want to know more details about the USB port of the camera (my one is IXUS 860 IS). But I cannot find annything.
What can I do?

2 x IXUS 860IS 100c
2 x Powershot S110 103a

« Reply #3 on: 04 / May / 2009, 10:20:11 »