Have I got this right? - page 2 - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

Have I got this right?

• 12 Replies

Offline Anaglyphic

• Anaglyphic lives!
Re: Have I got this right?
« Reply #10 on: 24 / August / 2009, 12:15:01 »
Advertisements
Ah. That's totally my bad. Sorry. I think of camera triggers. You specifically said it's a flash trigger, but I automatically converted it to mean a camera trigger and kept moving. :b

The reason you're having trouble measuring it, flash triggers are switches, they momentarily short the hot shoe/PC pins together. So it's going from 0V to 0V and back to 0V. Without injecting your own voltage to measure, you'll never see your meter deflect. You might be able to catch it on Ohms setting, but it's a fraction of a second, anyway.

good news / bad news:

The good news is the circuit is about the same... we don't need an inverter so you'll move the output connection from the collector side to the emitter side, and we need the USB to stay at +V (somewhere between 3 and 5V, 6 tops!) until the trigger fires, so you'll move the other end of the base resistor to +V to act as a pullup. You can eliminate the collector resistor.

The bad... it's not going to be that simple. Working in darkness and leaving the shutter open and firing the shortest burst you can, the timing part only involves two syncronizations - the object in motion and the flash burst. Controlling the camera instead, you'll add a 3rd time-sensitive calculation.