SD600 Firmware? - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

SD600 Firmware?

• 4 Replies
SD600 Firmware?
« on: 25 / December / 2009, 16:36:31 »
Advertisements
I started using CHDK on my Canon SD600 a little over a year ago, and a few months in the battery died mid-use, causing the camera to fail in shutting down properly. I'm not sure if some files were corrupted or what, but since then I have been unable to use my camera, with or without CHDK. It will power up but then the power button stops working and it won't power back down. It displays images on the screen, but always thinks it's in video mode. The menu button will get me into the menu but not back out and I can't navigate while I'm in the menu. The list goes on.

I went to Canon's site to see if there was a firmware update I could download to flash the camera and just start over, but they don't offer one for the SD600. If I want to fix it, the only option I can find is to send it in to Canon tech support and pay them a minimum of $99 to do for me something I think I could do with reasonable ease on my own.

Does anyone know of a way for me to flash the firmware on my bricked SD600? I'd even be open to third-party or open-source firmware--I just want to get my camera working again.

I apologize if this is a screamingly obvious issue I should have been able to figure out on my own.

Thanks.

Offline reyalp

Re: SD600 Firmware?
« Reply #1 on: 25 / December / 2009, 17:40:18 »
Running out of battery would not damage the camera onboard firmware, which is stored in flash ROM on the camera, not the card. The card might have been corrupted, but if that is the case reformatting the card (in your PC if you can't do it in camera) will fix it.

As a test, you can also start the camera without a card. It should work normally, except you obviously won't be able to save pictures. You should still be able to enter/exit the menu.