Alternative ways to trigger taking a photo? - Script Writing - CHDK Forum
supplierdeeply

Alternative ways to trigger taking a photo?

• 3 Replies
Alternative ways to trigger taking a photo?
« on: 28 / December / 2009, 17:28:17 »
Advertisements
Hello,

I'm new to CHDK but have programming experience in a range of areas (all non-camera related!)

My interest is to find methods to trigger taking a photo without physically pressing the trigger.  I am aware of the USB Remote feature in CHDK but wiring things together isn't my preferred solution.  Ideally I'd like a way to trigger directly from a PC but am also considering other methods.

I've got a Canon Eleph 950 (bought in US; IXIS 960) and had been considering using gPhoto instead but it turns out this can't remote control my camera.  Therefore I wonder if there's some way I could use CHDK with a script to allow it to trigger a photo.

Is there an easy (i.e. software / non-hardware hacking based) approach to trigger a photo from the PC?  Could a script (on the PC) be written that would set the voltage on the USB cable on the required wire, mimicing the USB Remote so that a corresponding script on the camera knew to take a picture?

The other sort of approch I was wondering about was to ignore the PC aspect and concentrate on some physical change that a camera script could detect and then have this trigger taking a photograph.  E.g. if you waved a hand in front of the camera at a certain close range, it would detect this, wait a brief time (so your hand could be removed) and the pic would be taken.

I had a quick look at the properties that the script could read, but I wasn't sure if there was a way to read the range from the IR range-finder (there's a get focus method, I wasn't sure if this would read the current actual range or what the camera was currently set to focus at, which could be different)