Camera damaged!!!!!!!did chdk do it!!!!!! - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

Camera damaged!!!!!!!did chdk do it!!!!!!

• 6 Replies
Camera damaged!!!!!!!did chdk do it!!!!!!
« on: 17 / August / 2010, 06:43:09 »
Advertisements
hi ,iam a newbee ,i started using chdk on my powershot a550 few mnths  back,really loved the great new features,but something happened yesterday ,i was taking some fast shutter shots ,i cranked up the shutter speed to 1/100k tooka few shots and then suddenly after a few shots i saw picture coming out as film negetives ,so i removed chdk  a took some shots again  though this time the photos were normal on first glance but on further inspection it was seen that it had some white horizontal lines ,daytime shota were hugely overexposed totally burnt,so today i went to canon service cente and they said the shutter may have been busted and total lens assembly has to be change,total charge wud be  about 80 dollars ,so iam asking can chdk ever cause this problem???????

Offline reyalp

Re: Camera damaged!!!!!!!did chdk do it!!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: 17 / August / 2010, 12:51:32 »
http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/FAQ#Q._Can_CHDK_damage_your_camera.C2.A0.3F

This could fall under
"By commanding physical hardware to do something it was not designed to do"

Or it could be coincidental, the a550 is pretty old, so it wouldn't be entirely surprising if it had just reached the end of it's life.

Very difficult to tell.

Do you know how many exposures the camera had it in it's lifetime ?

edit:
A fairly large number of people have used high speed overrides at least a few times without destroying their camera.
« Last Edit: 17 / August / 2010, 12:54:05 by reyalp »
Don't forget what the H stands for.

« Reply #2 on: 17 / August / 2010, 13:25:34 »