CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie - CHDK Releases - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie

  • 50 Replies
  • 24760 Views
*

Offline FreeFlow

  • ***
  • 171
  • Aerial Video & Photos
    • Aerial Video & Photos
CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« on: 19 / February / 2011, 09:31:01 »
Advertisements
I'm wanting to buy the S95 for Aerial Photos/Video with the CAMremote-2 PRO to control half press to focus/full press to trigger shutter/Zoom in RAW Mode. Is there a half way stable CHDK for this camera? I'm trying to find a camera that would give me all them features. Thanks for any help!

Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #1 on: 19 / February / 2011, 09:50:35 »
Hello and welcome.

What firmware version is your camera ?

I have a battery for the S95 on-charge right now.

David

*

Offline FreeFlow

  • ***
  • 171
  • Aerial Video & Photos
    • Aerial Video & Photos
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #2 on: 19 / February / 2011, 10:02:52 »
I haven't bought one yet. I was thinking on just getting it from like Best Buy so it might have the newest version...?

Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #3 on: 19 / February / 2011, 10:09:16 »
In that case, there is not much we can do.

I can tell you that I have tested RAW saving with the S95 using a SanDisk Extreme III card with SDM and it took less than one second.

Of course, you may prefer to use CHDK ....  your choice.

KAP photographers are currently using SDM with the S95.



*

Offline FreeFlow

  • ***
  • 171
  • Aerial Video & Photos
    • Aerial Video & Photos
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #4 on: 19 / February / 2011, 10:16:49 »
I just want the functionality for focus/trigger/zoom/RAW. I'm new to this and not sure where to find either type. Thanks again

*

Offline FreeFlow

  • ***
  • 171
  • Aerial Video & Photos
    • Aerial Video & Photos
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #5 on: 19 / February / 2011, 10:34:26 »
One other thing I'm not sure of is I may need CHDK to enable ZOOM for the vp-systems.eu/camremote.html devise. Canon doesn't allow control of zoom through USB.

Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #6 on: 19 / February / 2011, 10:45:59 »
Normally, you get the latest CHDK build here http://mighty-hoernsche.de/ but the S95 is not yet officially available.

Check the S95 porting thread for a download link for a beta version.

SDM builds are here http://stereo.jpn.org/eng/sdm/download.htm

S95 versions will be available later today with the release of SDM 1.85.

You can control zoom with a script.

camremote works with CHDK and SDM.

I recently uploaded latest version for firmware 100H here http://www.zshare.net/download/86798064aa8799e7/
« Last Edit: 19 / February / 2011, 13:18:41 by Microfunguy »

*

Offline FreeFlow

  • ***
  • 171
  • Aerial Video & Photos
    • Aerial Video & Photos
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #7 on: 19 / February / 2011, 12:17:26 »
That's cool. I'm going to run out and pickup one of them S95's. The CamRemote-2 Pro's are all out of stock so I'll have to work on that. I didn't see any download link on the SDM builds for a S95 at all. I take it that this also runs off a bootable SD card when you start the camera up to make it all work? I really do appreciate your help!


*

Offline msl

  • *****
  • 1276
  • A720 IS, SX220 HS 1.01a
    • CHDK-DE links
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #8 on: 19 / February / 2011, 13:00:24 »
You can also download from CHDK-DE autobuild. There is a S95 Beta version available.

msl
CHDK-DE:  CHDK-DE links

*

Offline FreeFlow

  • ***
  • 171
  • Aerial Video & Photos
    • Aerial Video & Photos
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #9 on: 19 / February / 2011, 20:43:26 »
I have my new S95 and the battery is charged. I used CardTrick to load-up the SD card. I can view the info on the camera using the Set and Display buttons. My two questions are...

Should I use firmwareVersion 100e (Alpha) or 100h (Alpha)?

I do I uninstall to reinstate the camera's firmware back to factory settings?

Thanks!

Mark

 

Related Topics