CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie - page 3 - CHDK Releases - CHDK Forum
supplierdeeply

CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie

  • 50 Replies
  • 18864 Views
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #20 on: 20 / February / 2011, 17:04:01 »
Advertisements
Think you have to make a custom cable.
It has been discussed on this KAP forum http://arch.ced.berkeley.edu/kap/discuss/

http://arch.ced.berkeley.edu/kap/discuss/comments.php?DiscussionID=3093&page=1#Item_0
http://arch.ced.berkeley.edu/kap/discuss/comments.php?DiscussionID=1332


Annoyingly, the image referred to in this thread is no longer available:
 http://arch.ced.berkeley.edu/kap/discuss/comments.php?DiscussionID=2164&page=1

Member 'zeno' can probably give you further information.
« Last Edit: 20 / February / 2011, 17:23:07 by Microfunguy »

*

Offline FreeFlow

  • ***
  • 171
  • Aerial Video & Photos
    • Aerial Video & Photos
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #21 on: 20 / February / 2011, 20:55:36 »
Whoa... I'm not to sure I can do that without shorting out & blowing up a couple new S95 cameras trying. It would be nice if i could buy one. I may Try? I wonder if one can get a video out signal from the HDMI Port that goes to the TV? Like HDMI to RCA cable.

*

Offline zeno

  • *****
  • 884
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #22 on: 21 / February / 2011, 04:39:02 »
@freeflow - the HDMI port on the Sony NEX-5 let's you do that. See Michael Layefsky's Dec 8th post in the KAP forum
http://arch.ced.berkeley.edu/kap/discuss/comments.php?DiscussionID=3097
A570, S100, Ixus 127
Author of ASSIST, STICK, WASP, ACID, SDMInst, LICKS, WICKS, MacBoot, UBDB, CFGEdit

Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #23 on: 21 / February / 2011, 06:39:19 »
I wonder if one can get a video out signal from the HDMI Port that goes to the TV?

I have just tried it.
The good news is that images were displayed on the TV.
The bad news is that it only works for playing back images and movies.

Here is another useful link http://pinouts.ru/PDA/htc_extUSB_pinout.shtml
and this http://dlnmh9ip6v2uc.cloudfront.net/images/products/09167-04.jpg,

The above breakout board (from Sparkfun) is very convenient.

Cut this cable or similar (Ebay item 180626559098) and solder short length with video socket to the board.
Cut a short end with plug from a USB min-B cable and wire to pins 1 and 5 for your CAMremote-2 Pro.
Very simple, no chance of blowing the camera !

It is possible that group member 'fvdk' may be willing to make this if you feel unable to :
http://www.flickr.com/photos/fvdk3d/sets/72157624151791739/

David
« Last Edit: 21 / February / 2011, 07:36:09 by Microfunguy »


*

Offline FreeFlow

  • ***
  • 171
  • Aerial Video & Photos
    • Aerial Video & Photos
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #24 on: 21 / February / 2011, 21:14:25 »
I haven't looked yet but thanks for all the Cable help! I'm going to check it out now.

*

Offline FreeFlow

  • ***
  • 171
  • Aerial Video & Photos
    • Aerial Video & Photos
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #25 on: 22 / February / 2011, 21:38:50 »
I'm still a bit confused on how to plug all this all together to get all these Focus/Trigger/Zoom/LiveVideoOut using the CAMremote-2 Pro and a CanonS95. Keep in mind that I'm still waiting to order my CAMremote-2 Pro so I only have my S95. However I do see that the CAMremote plugs into the receiver/Battery and the CAMremote has a mini USB that plugs into the USB in the camera. But how can you connect your wireless video downlink to this.? Maybe the downlink Transmitter gets plugged into either channel 0, 1, 2, 3...? and the Pro has 4 channels? The photos on http://vp-systems.eu/ show a few different plug arrangements. Even with two USB Ports..?

Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #26 on: 23 / February / 2011, 05:27:10 »
That is what the video socket (connected to the SparkFun board) that I mentioned is for.


*

Offline zeno

  • *****
  • 884
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #27 on: 23 / February / 2011, 14:12:15 »
@msl - my imac is currently undergoing repairs, so I'm not able to work on Acid right now. However, the way it works for SDM and CHDK is to search the html of the download page for a specific string. It seems that the CHDK-DE download page works in a different way - the user has to select items from three lists - Serie, Modell and Firmwareversion. That would make it hard for ACID. Is there an underlying webpage which contains a list of all the available downloads, like the CHDK one at http://mighty-hoernsche.de/?
A570, S100, Ixus 127
Author of ASSIST, STICK, WASP, ACID, SDMInst, LICKS, WICKS, MacBoot, UBDB, CFGEdit


*

Offline FreeFlow

  • ***
  • 171
  • Aerial Video & Photos
    • Aerial Video & Photos
Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #28 on: 23 / February / 2011, 16:39:18 »
Hey Zeno the Sony NEX-5 is a nice camera for sure. I'll keep it on my list! By the way FunGuy's list is at...
http://stereo.jpn.org/eng/sdm/download.htm

Re: CHDK for Canon's S95 - Newbie
« Reply #29 on: 24 / February / 2011, 15:55:25 »
@zeno - I've create a test page for Acid: http://downloads.chdk-treff.de/autobuild_acid.html Do you need any other information/data?

CHDKLover

 

Related Topics