Using USB port - page 2 - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

Using USB port

• 14 Replies
Re: Using USB port
« Reply #10 on: 25 / January / 2012, 13:34:30 »
Advertisements
I think I see the problem.  Look at this part of the code :

Code: [Select]
for b = 1 to 100
  a = get_usb_power()
  m = m + a
  c = c + a*a
next b

You need to recognize that if there is no new pulse width to report,  then get_usb_power() returns zero.  Your average reading is then a pseudo-random value that's a more a function of how fast uBasic can iterate through the loop that how well  the USB remote can distinguish USB pulse widths.

This might give you a more precise answer about the statistical variation in the measured USB pulse witdth  :

Code: [Select]
for b = 1 to 100
  do a = get_usb_power 0 until a>0
  m = m + a
  c = c + a*a
next b
Ported :   A1200    SD940   G10    Powershot N    G16

« Reply #11 on: 26 / January / 2012, 17:42:23 »
Thanks for that suggestion.  It obviously could be the problem, but I thought that the command get_usb_power only returned a result on the transition mark to space.  Have I misunderstood this command?  Whoops, I see a fault in my logic there, if it only returns a result on the transition I don't know how long the loop is anyway (that is also true for your code segment).  The question is still valid though, what exactly does the command return and when?  Is it the case that zero is returned unless there has been a transition and if so surely that means that the result will always be zero unless the command is activated at the exact moment of the transition.  Sorry to be a pain,  I am probably showing my ignorance of the basic coding.

« Reply #12 on: 26 / January / 2012, 20:44:57 »
Thanks for that suggestion.  It obviously could be the problem, but I thought that the command get_usb_power only returned a result on the transition mark to space.  Have I misunderstood this command? 
Yes.