Newbie and the Canon G10 - General Help and Assistance on using CHDK stable releases - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

Newbie and the Canon G10

  • 8 Replies
  • 1948 Views
Newbie and the Canon G10
« on: 11 / February / 2012, 23:37:37 »
Advertisements
Hello everyone.. :) I just joind the forum.
I have a G10 and have installed CHDK successfully! :lol :lol
I was worried but it was easy!
Thank you to the developers who took the time to bring the G10 into the mix.

Any one out there with the G10 ?

the issue I am having right now is using the intervalometer and the lack of Zoom function while I do.
the intervalometer works better than expected..i have used a couple different ones.
the lack of zoom... :(
I am scouring the forum today for an answer....anyone know what to do???
I'll keep reading...its here somewhere...


thank you again and hello...

Re: Newbie and the Canon G10
« Reply #1 on: 11 / February / 2012, 23:46:53 »
Any one out there with the G10 ?
Yes.

Quote
the issue I am having right now is using the intervalometer and the lack of Zoom function while I do.
the intervalometer works better than expected..i have used a couple different ones.
the lack of zoom... :(
What did you have in mind for zoom functionality?   Unlike some other cameras,  zoom via CHDK scripting works really well with the G10.  You need to explain a bit more about what you are looking for here.
Ported :   A1200    SD940   G10    Powershot N    G16

Re: Newbie and the Canon G10
« Reply #2 on: 11 / February / 2012, 23:57:27 »
would like to set  the zoom to the max point (optical only)  and then just fire away!!!! I have the camera mounted on a helmet cam and need to take photos in the surf of my Rc Surfer....

Re: Newbie and the Canon G10
« Reply #3 on: 12 / February / 2012, 00:01:46 »
would like to set  the zoom to the max point (optical only)  and then just fire away!!!
So what stops you from doing that with the zoom lever ?  (Note : you could also add a single code line to your intervalometer script to run the lens all the way out if that's what you want to do instead.)

Quote
I have the camera mounted on a helmet cam and need to take photos in the surf of my Rc Surfer....
Wow - considering your application, you picked one of the heaviest Canon P&S cameras possible.
« Last Edit: 12 / February / 2012, 00:03:22 by waterwingz »
Ported :   A1200    SD940   G10    Powershot N    G16


Re: Newbie and the Canon G10
« Reply #4 on: 12 / February / 2012, 00:27:43 »
zoom lever ?  I can zoom normally, set it where I want: but when I start the script it defaults back to the most wide angle position.... while the script is running, the zoom lever ?? does not function normally.

I wanted a camera that shot RAW :haha (before I knew about CHDK)
I do like it....Solid!

could you give me a sample of the code that might work, where to insert it?



Re: Newbie and the Canon G10
« Reply #5 on: 12 / February / 2012, 00:34:01 »
zoom lever ?  I can zoom normally, set it where I want: but when I start the script it defaults back to the most wide angle position.... while the script is running, the zoom lever ?? does not function normally.
Strange - I'll check that out tomorrow.

Quote
could you give me a sample of the code that might work, where to insert it?
Post your script here (or a link to the one you are using).  I'll update and send it back to you.
Ported :   A1200    SD940   G10    Powershot N    G16

Re: Newbie and the Canon G10
« Reply #6 on: 12 / February / 2012, 00:47:19 »
I am using: http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/UBASIC/Scripts:_Ultra_Intervalometer

thanks for the help.


rem Author - Keoeeit
rem Written for S-Series
rem Should be okay on others
rem Use Endless mode with caution
rem See documentation for important info
rem first version
@title Ultra Intervalometer
@param a Delay 1st Shot (Mins)
@default a 0
@param b Delay 1st Shot (Secs)
@default b 0
@param c Number of Shots
@default c 5
@param d Interval (Minutes)
@default d 0
@param e Interval (Seconds)
@default e 0
@param f Interval (10th Seconds)
@default f 5
@param g Endless? No=0 Yes=1
@default g 0
p=a*60000+b*1000
t=d*60000+e*1000+f*100
if c<1 then let c=5
if t<100 then let t=100
if g<0 then let g=0
if g>1 then let g=1
if p<0 then let p=0
z=t*c
y=p+z
print "1 Cycle Time:", y/60000; "min", y%60000/1000; "sec"
goto "interval"
:interval
  if p>0 then gosub "pause"
  print "Shot 1 of", c
  shoot     
  if c=1 then end
  for n=2 to c
  sleep t
  print "Shot", n, "of", c
  shoot
  next n
  if g=1 then goto "interval" else end
:pause
  n=(a*60)+b
  for m=1 to n
  q=n-m
  print "Intvl Begins:", q/60; "min", q%60; "sec"
  sleep 930
  next m
  return
« Last Edit: 12 / February / 2012, 22:09:40 by kitekook »

Re: Newbie and the Canon G10
« Reply #7 on: 12 / February / 2012, 01:17:57 »
Newbee learns a lesson....

Do Not Format your Card!!  :o  :haha

Its all back now.  I just had to re extract the CHDK

I am a newbee :haha


Re: Newbie and the Canon G10
« Reply #8 on: 13 / February / 2012, 13:48:20 »
I am such a dummy...Waterwingz please forgive me....

I was looking for info everywhere and found what I needed on the KAP forum.


"....So just to recap, if I understand correctly, I set the camera up like I want it while in normal (non - CHDK) mode - (shutter priority at 1/500 sec, normal focal length, etc). I then switch to alt. While in shooting mode, I press the shutter to begin interval shooting, and it should begin...."

Well that did it allright!!!! :)

Thank you for putting up with me.
td

 

Related Topics