Canon SX230 HS - page 2 - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

Canon SX230 HS

• 15 Replies
Re: Canon SX230 HS
« Reply #10 on: 29 / October / 2013, 07:04:13 »
Advertisements
Could it be that, extending the f stop beyond an optimum (and adjusting Tv appropriately) could be counter productive?

Definitely.

That is the point I was trying to make in a recent discussion about a new script for kite aerial photography.
With my S95 at wide angle the optimum aperture is the smallest numerical value, that is fully open
Remember, that is already equivalent to f11 on a 35mm camera.

David

« Reply #11 on: 29 / October / 2013, 10:48:17 »
Would like your views on what I have said below.
What you are seeing is a competition between two of the basic limits of lens optics.   

In simplified terms, designers try to capture all the light striking a lens from a photographic subject and bend (focus) that light so that it reaches the camera's sensor at the right position to create an image.   No lens is perfect,   so while the light travelling through the very center of the lens will always be in focus, as you move out from the center, the focus starts to vary with the distance from the subject.  When you increase the f-stop number (i.e. adjust the iris),  you create a smaller internal diameter in the lens, cutting out more and more of the light travelling through the outer areas of the lens,  the light that tends to be less in focus at anything other than the current lens point of focus.  This is the effect that gives you a "depth-of-field" choice - let in more light and you get a brighter picture but less clear focus across the whole depth-of-field,  cut down on the light to get broader focus and you need to decrease the shutter speed / increase the ISO to compensate.