Powershot S100 identifying firmware - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum  

Powershot S100 identifying firmware

• 7 Replies
Powershot S100 identifying firmware
« on: 20 / June / 2012, 21:14:03 »
Advertisements
Hello there.  I'm new to this group.  Anyway...been reading up on the whole CHDK project and tried loading the ver.req file to my S100 but none of the button pushing combinations I've tried seem to work to reveal my version of the camera's firmware.  It just pops up a rather nice looking running calendar read out.  I also tried the latest Camera Version 1.3 with a jpeg file but that fails to tell me anything either.  So, just wondering if there is anyone with a Powershot S100 that can help me out with this step.

I do have all three of the Alpha versions of CHDK for the S100 downloaded to a file on my desktop:
s100-100d
s100-100e
s100-100a
so I suppose I could just try each of those in order to see if they work.  Could I just do that?

Harold

Re: Powershot S100 identifying firmware
« Reply #1 on: 20 / June / 2012, 21:25:10 »
Hello there.  I'm new to this group.  Anyway...been reading up on the whole CHDK project and tried loading the ver.req file to my S100 but none of the button pushing combinations I've tried seem to work to reveal my version of the camera's firmware.  It just pops up a rather nice looking running calendar read out.
Try this - the S100 might not work that way (as it also will apparently not use the firmware update method either).

Automatic Camera Identifier and Downloader

I also tried the latest Camera Version 1.3 with a jpeg file but that fails to tell me anything either. 
We should probably either quarantine those old utilities or at least publish a note that they may not work with older cameras. 

I do have all three of the Alpha versions of CHDK for the S100 downloaded to a file on my desktop:
s100-100d
s100-100e
s100-100a