SX20IS PS.FIR and PSFI2 Missing ?? - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum

SX20IS PS.FIR and PSFI2 Missing ??

• 6 Replies
SX20IS PS.FIR and PSFI2 Missing ??
« on: 23 / March / 2013, 02:02:31 »
Advertisements
My first post, so hope this is the correct place.  I am not a computer nerd, or photo freak, so please respond if possible at a CHDK101 level.

Camera SX20IS Firmware 1.02B

Used Card Tricks to format, boot, and load small CHDK a 4GB Card.

Set card lock ON

Placed card in camera and turned on as per guide.  Very quickly (about 1/2 second) displays red splash CHDK version and other info WITHOUT the CHDK Logo, then displays "no image".

I have verified that the Camera firmare version is correct, and the CHDK version is correct, and the card is locked. I have done this many times.

HOWEVER,  PS.FIR and PS.FI2 are NOT in the download  Are the PS.* files necessary?, if so where can they be downloaded.  Although the missing PS.* files have been previously posted as issues with the SX20 my searches have not found a simple source or meaningful solution.

I am only trying to get up and running with CHDK at this stage as a stepping stone to learning, therefore if anyone can point me in the right direction I will be particularly greateful.

Thanks

Offline reyalp

Re: SX20IS PS.FIR and PSFI2 Missing ??
« Reply #1 on: 23 / March / 2013, 02:59:17 »
The PS.FI2 (or PS.FIR on old vxworks cameras) files are only need to load manually using the "firmware update" method.

As noted on the wiki page http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/SX20 the firmware update method does not work on this camera, so the file is not included in the autobuild packages.

You can still use the bootable SD card method to load CHDK.
Don't forget what the H stands for.

« Reply #2 on: 23 / March / 2013, 05:10:51 »
Thanks Reyalp.