Trying to get 32gb card to work on sx230hs - General Help and Assistance on using CHDK stable releases - CHDK Forum

Trying to get 32gb card to work on sx230hs

• 9 Replies
Trying to get 32gb card to work on sx230hs
« on: 15 / December / 2011, 19:58:46 »
Advertisements
I am a complete novice at chdk. I have successfully formatted a 4gb card for my camera but now I'm trying to get a 32gb card to work. I have a mac. I've tried to use SDM/CHDK Installer for OSX and also CHDK_prep. I am close to getting this right but keep running into a "memory error". Can someone please give me "detailed" instructions on how to correctly format this card?

Re: Trying to get 32gb card to work on sx230hs
« Reply #1 on: 15 / December / 2011, 20:06:28 »
Ported :   A1200    SD940   G10    Powershot N    G16

Offline zeno

« Reply #2 on: 16 / December / 2011, 04:41:56 »
I'm surprised that my SDMInst app gave a 'memory error'. Are you saying that after you'd asked it to format the card, make it bootable and copy the files that when you put it in the camera the camera reported the error? If so, did SDMInst display any warning or error messages during processing?
A570, S100, Ixus 127
Author of ASSIST, STICK, WASP, ACID, SDMInst, LICKS, WICKS, MacBoot, UBDB, CFGEdit

« Reply #3 on: 17 / December / 2011, 00:22:09 »
The camera would take about 4-5 pictures and then tell me the memory was full. It looks like it's not swapping partitions to store pictures. I'm trying to keep away from doing a permanent firmware update (Am I right in assuming that it could corrupt the firmware that's in the camera and that if I don't have a copy of my camera's firmware, it will be a chore to get it back in there?).

« Reply #4 on: 17 / December / 2011, 00:30:44 »