G1X locking autofocus when screen is off (for timelapse with intervalometer) - Script Writing - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

G1X locking autofocus when screen is off (for timelapse with intervalometer)

• 8 Replies
Advertisements
I'm using my Canon G1X with an intervalometer to create timelapse videos. However there is a (known) problem that the camera defaults to AF once the screen is turned off / folded back. This means that I to use manual focus, I have to keep the screen on, which kills my battery really really fast.

Does anyone know of a solution to this using CHDK? Someone on DPR posted that it's possible by adding "af_lock(1)" to his CHDK timelapsing script:
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3202733

However:
1) I can't get a response from him.
2) I'm a novice in CHDK.
3) I don't want to use CHDK for timelapsing, I'd rather keep my intervalometer. But I'm willing to activate a script that locks the MF if possible.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!

Offline lapser

if(get_focus_mode()~=1)then
  set_aflock(1)
end

In my experiments with the G1X and sx270, set_aflock(1) ALWAYS autofocuses before it locks. But it may not autofocus successfully, so you can end up with a blurry time lapse. I've tried set_focus(mm) but set_aflock(1) still focuses again.

The G1X has a manual focus mode. I always set manual focus before entering <alt> mode and starting the script. If you set_aflock when in manual focus mode it crashes the sx260 and doesn't work, so I put the test for manual focus before the set_aflock.

To enter manual focus mode, press the left cursor button twice, then set button, and then use the dials to change the focus. If you half press the shutter button and hold it, then press the left cursor, it enters manual focus mode at that focus position, although you can still use the focus dial.