Memory browser mod - General Discussion and Assistance - CHDK Forum  

Memory browser mod

• 0 Replies

Offline srsa_4c

Memory browser mod
« on: 15 / July / 2011, 21:24:56 »
Advertisements
I was a bit dissatisfied with CHDK's default memory browser. Therefore I hacked together a mod (based on the original plus some other CHDK code), which is (I think) more fun to use. To be honest, I haven't done much research, so there may exist something similar.
I'm not really a programmer, and if I do code, it's usually not c. The code could be better (I'm sure, there's a lot to optimize), but it works. It may have some bugs however.
It's currently a drop-in replacement for /core/gui-debug.c
It uses the same configuration value as its predecessor, but has the ability to save more settings (to a separate file).
It's also not intended to be part of an end user distribution, only for development/porting.

The following keys are in use: display, set, up/down/left/right, half-shoot.

The display key is used for navigation through the program functions (there's six of them).

(1)

At start, the "STOP" sign is highlighted (red background). The following keys are active: up/down, left/right, set. Pressing up/down changes to the next/previous memory block (dump mode, see later). The left/right keys change the starting address by the amount selected by "step". Pressing set activates the continous refresh mode ("STOP" changes to "LIVE"), pressing set again changes back.

(2)

A press on "disp(lay)" key highlights the cursor: it allows to select either the (starting) address, or one of the 32 displayed values. The up/down/left/right keys can be used for navigation.

(3)