Powershot A590 requesting firmware change - Hello, I'm a NEWBIE - HELP!! (Newbies assistance, User Guides and thank you notes) - CHDK Forum supplierdeeply

Powershot A590 requesting firmware change

• 4 Replies
Powershot A590 requesting firmware change
« on: 14 / January / 2022, 17:03:50 »
Advertisements
I know it’s old but I would like to use it for a podcast, here’s the deal, I have the DC input but it still wants to turn off every 3 minutes max to save energy. This camera is not able to send picture through USB like new cameras so I’m using the composite out. It looks much better than a webcam because it has optical zoom and a nice sensor.

So here is the final request, removing display off timer, and maybe cleaning up one mode of the lcd so there is nothing on the screen.

Offline reyalp

Re: Powershot A590 requesting firmware change
« Reply #1 on: 14 / January / 2022, 18:57:22 »

So here is the final request, removing display off timer, and maybe cleaning up one mode of the lcd so there is nothing on the screen.
Setting "Disable LCD off" to "Always" in the CHDK settings menu should disable the display off timer.
Don't forget what the H stands for.

« Reply #2 on: 15 / January / 2022, 22:10:41 »
Thank you for helping me find the CHDK menu, I am obviously a newbie, however, I am unable to find that setting as it appears to be in German… do you know what menu it would be in German and what exactly it would say because I looked up a translation and it didn’t exist? I combed the settings hard for anything that would look similar. Thanks in advance for your help, Chris.

Offline reyalp

« Reply #3 on: 15 / January / 2022, 22:40:29 »
Thank you for helping me find the CHDK menu, I am obviously a newbie, however, I am unable to find that setting as it appears to be in German…