S110, half of the images are overexposed, can it be fixed? - Hotwire! Hardware Mods, Accessories and Insights - CHDK Forum

S110, half of the images are overexposed, can it be fixed?

• 17 Replies

Offline Mlapse

• S95 S110
S110, half of the images are overexposed, can it be fixed?
« on: 13 / November / 2023, 09:26:03 »
Advertisements
One of my S110 has developed a problem that i have never seen before.
about the bottom half of each picture is overexposed, everything else seems as intended.

compared with another s110, they do the same exposure side by side, so why one half of the image ends up overexposed is a puzzle to me.

the cam has been used upside down for the better part of a year and that's something i've never done before....i hope that's not related.

Normally i would just get another one, but my last spare is now active and since they are of 2012, it's becoming harder to find them.
If possible i will take a go at repairing it.
« Last Edit: 15 / November / 2023, 03:26:16 by Mlapse »
frustration is a key ingredient in progress

Offline reyalp

Re: S110, half of the images are overexposed, can it be fixed?
« Reply #1 on: 13 / November / 2023, 13:11:25 »
That's pretty weird.

Does the live view look normal? Do long exposures (like 1+ second taken in low enough light to need it) look the same?
Don't forget what the H stands for.

Offline Mlapse

• S95 S110
« Reply #2 on: 13 / November / 2023, 14:14:32 »
The live view looks normal, also low light images (< 1/30) seem normal, longer than 1 seconds also good. as far a i can see it only happens with daylight.

Offline reyalp

« Reply #3 on: 13 / November / 2023, 17:33:11 »
The live view looks normal, also low light images (< 1/30) seem normal, longer than 1 seconds also good. as far a i can see it only happens with daylight.