Magic Lantern's cache hacks on PowerShots? - General Discussion and Assistance - CHDK Forum

Magic Lantern's cache hacks on PowerShots?

• 13 Replies

Offline srsa_4c

Magic Lantern's cache hacks on PowerShots?
« on: 01 / January / 2013, 14:14:11 »
Advertisements
This topic may never get any replies, but it's worth a try.

cache_hacks.h

I tried to use it (with slight modifications due to missing integer types) on a VxWorks and a DryOS camera, almost without any visible effect. The only exception was when I "replaced" a few early subroutine calls in the startup process with which I successfully crashed the camera.
I have used cache_fake() calls (as seen in some ML src files).

Since I'm no expert in ARM, I have a few questions...

- What could be the reason of my failure? Is there something which needs to be done differently on "our" DIGICs?
- Is it to be expected that some camera routines unlock and flush the whole (I, D) cache, thereby erasing the faked content? If so, do those routines need a rewrite or can they be simply made "nullsub"s?
- For how long does the faked cache content last? Is this method suitable for altering tasks other than the one which calls cache_fake()?

The only promising place I've seen larger number of these cache_fake() calls is the 40D code, but since I don't have the 40D ROM, I don't know which firmware routines are hacked/replaced there.
« Last Edit: 01 / January / 2013, 17:30:40 by srsa_4c »

Offline reyalp

Re: Magic Lantern's cache hacks on PowerShots?
« Reply #1 on: 01 / January / 2013, 15:10:17 »
- What could be the reason of my failure? Is there something which needs to be done differently on "our" DIGICs?
Unlikely. Digic ARM seems to be a very vanilla ARM.
- Is it to be expected that some camera routines unlock and flush the whole (I, D) cache, thereby erasing the faked content? If so, do those routines need a rewrite or can they be simply made "nullsub"s?