Is RAW really necessary? Or are we skinning a hair? - RAW Shooting and Processing - CHDK Forum

Is RAW really necessary? Or are we skinning a hair?

• 33 Replies
Is RAW really necessary? Or are we skinning a hair?
« on: 22 / April / 2008, 02:51:07 »
Advertisements
I am new to digital imaging. With trying so hard and consuming precious time in processing RAW images, which even fail to match the excellent quality of JPEG's produced by in built state of the art DigicII or DigicIII processors of Powershots, I wonder if saving in RAW is really necessary. Even for minor corrections in the JPEG's there are excellent lossless softwares like Photoline and Lightroom.

It is debatable and has been debated for some time. In bygone era when built in processors of cameras were not so efficient, saving in RAW had some merits. There are pros and cons. For a miniscule additional detail in the highlight or shadow area, which, to the untrained eye is not visible, I think devoting or wasting time in RAW processing is not worthwhile. It is like skinning a hair.

Please don't flame. I know there are die hard RAW users, but this is only my personal opinion. I would rather use my time in capturing images. Processing of images should be minimum.

Re: Is RAW really necessary? Or are we skinning a hair?
« Reply #1 on: 22 / April / 2008, 02:58:50 »
Deleted
« Last Edit: 22 / April / 2008, 18:35:48 by Barney Fife »
[acseven/admin commented out: please refrain from more direct offensive language to any user. FW complaints to me] I felt it imperative to withdraw my TOTAL participation. Nobody has my permission, nor the right, to reinstate MY posts. Make-do with my quoted text in others' replies only. Bye

« Reply #2 on: 22 / April / 2008, 07:40:54 »
Then there is the matter of how large you print.

If you are looking at 4x6 or even up to 8x10, an 8 megapixel jpg is fine.